Help with horse walk project, animals, maintenance and building at our off-grid location in the West-Algarve. Portugal

Country

Portugal

Favourited 330 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    6  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    24/02/2020

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    78.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 18 days

  • Badges

    Good Host
 
  2020 

 Min stay requested: at least 3 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    My name is Sakshin and ever since I was a child I wanted a horse. Finally, after 50 years, I got one! Rescued from slaughter. Very soon I got another one. Horses are meant to live together. Since last summer I said yes to an orphan foal, another foal and his mother, all rescued from horrible circumstances by a great organization closeby. It was quite the challenge since I had never even seen a foal up close before. It's a joy to be with them and I am so happy that I said 'YES' - I love saying YES it's kind of my philosophy.

    I would love more people to experience the magic of being surrounded by horses and get more grounded in themselves, therefore I started to organize holistic horsewalks. Horses are mirrors of the soul and reflect our state of being. These animals are soo powerful and magical. Ooo and the foals they are soo heartwarming and cute.

    We would love your help with taking care of the horses (and their poo ;) ) other things we like your assistance or expertise on are building and starting a vegetable garden.

    It's not a necessity to have experiences with horses (although we do love that). It is a necessity that you are willing and open to learn about horses. (saying YES ;) )

    Open for people who want to help develop the land and animals (3 horses, 2 foals, 1 doggy and 1 cool cat) in the west of the Sunny Algarve. Close to Barao de Sao Joao and Zoo Lagos. Public transport stops nearby and we are 5 km from the beaches and a 10 minutes walk from the quaint village where you can get all that you need. We offer beautiful horse walks with rescued horses, which you are also welcome to join. The walks get amazing feedback from people spending such quality time with these beautiful, gentle creatures.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Farmstay
    Other
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Charity work

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Learn how to be with horses in a holistic way and live a low ECO footprint life.

  • Help

    Help

    We seek help with the animals (3 horses, 2 foals, a cat and doggy), fence maintenance and some general assistance around the house like watering the plants, building, fixing and a lot of outdoor stuff etc. General help with promoting the horse walk project, such as with social media is also welcome!

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English, Nederlands, ein bisschen Deutsch y un poco espanol

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    You will stay in your own comfortable caravan.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    In your spare time you can explore the beaches with great surf, check out Lagos with it's many restaurants and visit the small villages next to us by bus or bicycle.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    5 hours a day, 5 days a week

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (4.7)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)






Host ref number: 691215635163