Join our bilingual German/Irish family, with stunning sea views in rural Wicklow, Ireland

Country

Ireland

Favourited 22 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    19/03/2020

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 2 days

 
  2020 

 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are a German/Irish family w 4 young children who run a little hobby farm. We have had lots of Aupairs and students over the years to help us with our busy family, animals and plants. We have only just heard of WorkAway and are keen to offer travellers a warm, fun welcome to Ireland. Our experience is mostly with German travellers in the past, and we have always enjoyed the language exchanges. 15 years married, 4 children, countless German students ... and David still does not speak a single word of German!! NOTE: Accommodation suitable for 2 travellers!

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    Babysitting / child care
    General Maintenance
    Help in the house
    Animal care

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We are a bilingual German/Irish family loving living in the countryside. David is Irish and grew up on the land, he loves getting stuck into work and play in the outdoors in every way. Alex is German and loves her vegetables, animals (and her family). Our 4 children are ages 10 and younger. They are always keen to meet travellers and will help you settle into your stay here.

  • Help

    Help

    We require help w the garden, setting up a vegetable patch in the new polytunnel, putting the finishing touches on a cottage we have been renovating, feeding animals, walking the dogs, sometimes minding the children (and always having fun together), some light housework, and general maintenance. While it is useful to have some previous experience with most tasks we are happy to help you learn on the job. NOTE: We are happy to have 2 WorkAway travellers staying together!

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English, German

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Staying in a self catering cottage adjacent to the house which you are going to help us complete! The builders have just left, so it's just finishing touches at this stage. Own bathroom, kitchenette, sitting room and bedroom. Heated by wood fired stove. Wood provided. There is plenty of space here, and we are happy to accept 2 WorkAway travellers staying together.

    The WorkAway traveller can live in the cottage adjacent to the house and will receive provision to make own meals. Feel free to join us in the house for time together and dinners, though.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    You are always welcome into our house where we have Wifi access and TV. We live 5km from Brittas Bay beach, 8km from beautiful historic Wicklow Town, Kilmacurragh Arboretum, Glendalough, trains to Dublin and other fab amenities. You can walk on the farm and in the local forestry. Bicycle available. And we can work out lifts to Wicklow.
    We are a busy family and tend to be away in the mornings. Afternoons are filled with homework, cooking, children's hobbies, etc. They like hockey, football, cycling, swimming, arts and general play. Your job is mostly working on the land or in the gardens, but we always welcome you into the house. Alex will give you a hand when she is around, but you will also be required to work away on your own. You will never be bored with so many people around.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 688623252118