Learn about 'hands-on' organic and permacultural methods of gardening in rural NSW, Australia

Country

Australia

Favourited 21 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    26/09/2021

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 1 day

 
  2021 

 Min stay requested: at least 3 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We offer you a room in our family home with Broadband etc.. We are preparing new ground for planting. Our house is a part of a large Hare Krsna Community. There are many volunteers elsewhere on the community with whom you will enjoy sharing meals. We are strictly vegetarian with no intoxication. Yoga classes, massage, swimming when not too cold and walking about our 1,000 acre property as well as milking cows are some of the recreational activities available.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Art Projects
    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Farmstay help
    Babysitting and creative play
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance
    Help with Computers/ Internet

  • UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    This is the 'hands-on' way to learn practical application of organic and permacultural methods of gardening. As Hare Krsnas we grow many varieties of fragrant flowers. As vegetarians we will plant plenty of vegies & herbs. New fruit & flower tree plantings are also planned. Covering our 600 metres of fenceline with various flowering and fruiting vines along with more vegies like cuc's and toms and climbing spinaches etc..will be after that.
    So there is plenty in the 'grapevine' but the immediate focus is thickly covering a lot of prepared earth with mulch and then making sure water will be readily available in all parts of the garden. This will require enthusiastic and strong hands on deck. Your appetites will be well rewarded at meal times.
    Hare Krsna spiritual programs every morning and afternoon are open to all and are packed with philosophy, singing [chanting] and dancing according to choice. Several joyous Festivals are programmed for the next 2 months and everyone is welcome to attend.

  • Help

    Help

    Mainly gardening help is required now as Spring is in the air and we need to fully prepare. Summer here comes with much heat and rain so we are required to match the vigorous weed growth. We will spread heaps of mulch which will arrive in large trucks. Our newly acquired excavator will save a lot of work but we will still be very busy. Irrigation will be after that and then planting.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    We have very nice rooms each with 1-2 single beds, an attached bathroom and separate outside entrances. Additional mattresses and camping space are also available. Car Park has room for 4 extra cars. Camping space is on the other side of the house with a separate access road.
    Very nice vegetarian meals are served in the communal area 5 minute walk from the house. There you can meet other community members and up to 40 other volunteers. Occasional meals, snacks and drinks are also provided at home.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We are half-way between Byron Bay and the Gold Coast and also midway between other coastal beaches and famous Mt Warning.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    Plenty of space. If necessary bathroom/toilet in-house. Fully independent : less work/help expected.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 5 hours a day, 5 days a week


Host ref number: 688212423693