2018. Come and learn about sustanable homesteading

Country

United States

Favourited 151 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    1  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    04/12/2019

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 2 days

  • Badges

 
Join now to contact this host
  2019 

 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Winter/Early Spring

    It has been an interesting fall and early winter here at Broken Magnolia. The weather was warm and then a bit cold until Christmas. Now it is, for us, very cold. Not great for the gardens but hopefully it is killing bugs for the spring. That being said, we are looking forward to our 2018 kid crop (luckily goats don’t mind the cold) starting in Feb. We have a volunteer for kidding but if you would like to see the baby goats prancing around and climbing trees during their childhood, let us know. By March we will be putting in spring/early summer crops. We are also doing a lot of work on our barns and expanding our fencing. So if you have an interest in learning those skills, we are where you want to be.

    General Info About Broken Magnolia

    We raise gourmet garlic, vegetables, herbs, meat goats, and chickens. We need help with our goats, dogs, chickens, large gardens, harvesting and preserving veggies, help with ongoing projects, building maintenance and construction, wood cutting, and household work.

    We are working towards living on the land in a sustainable way. We do not use chemical fertilizers. As much as possible, we have no till gardens. In MS, this is tough but we are making progress.

    We are juggling a lot of balls, getting/keeping the farm in order, goats, chickens, planting, harvesting, putting up veggies, home schooling grandchildren, large guardian dogs who want to go AWOL…… It is endless. Fun but endless. Things are not neat and, to be honest, they are often barely organized. If you can handle impromptu living, we are the place for you!

    Music and Art: Everyone on Broken Magnolia loves music and everyone except myself plays. We live in the MS Hill Country and the spring, summer and early fall are the time for Hill Country Blues festivals. If you have your own transportation, these festivals and the MS Delta and the many Delta blues festivals are an easy drive away. Our son, who lives on the farm, is a professional artist/musician and is interested in having volunteers who would like to work on framing etc.

    General Work Requirements: In return for room and board, we expect an average of 25 hours of work a week. We do require that you work at specific times. In the summer, for example, we work early, take off in the middle of the day, then do evening chores. We don't always work with you. You need to be able to take direction and finish tasks on your own.

    Length of stay: We prefer folks who want to stay for two weeks or more. If a volunteer has previous farm/work experience that we need at a particular time, we can arrange one week stays.

    Transportation: Getting here: If you do not have your own transportation, Greyhound has a stop in Grenada, MS and we can arrange to pick you up there. Please contact us before you make a reservation.

    Once you are here: While we are only 10 miles from Oxford, there is NO public transportation between our farm and Oxford. We can, however, arrange to take folks into town when we go.

    Internet Access: If you have a computer, tablet, smart phone etc. Limited wireless internet access is available for e-mail and social networking.

    Living Conditions: Our volunteers stay in a separate air conditioned/heated sleeping/eating space with a 1/2 bath and shower. There is a sink, microwave, and fridge for food prep. We supply cutlery, plates, bowls, cups, glasses, towels, sheets, dishes, paper goods, cleaning supplies etc.

    Food preferences: We are omnivores. That said, we have had many vegetarians staying with us and it worked well.

    Food: We provide food, coffee, tea, fruit, milk, juice etc. You fix your own breakfast and either your own lunch or your own dinner. I prepare one full meal a day and bake most of our bread.

    Laundry: Free Washers/Dryers and laundry soap are available in both houses.

    Smoking: You can smoke outside. We do not allow smoking inside our houses, the volunteer space, the barns, or in the gardens.

    Drugs: You may not use illegal drugs on our property.

    Languages: We are native English speakers with limited Italian, French, Spanish, and German. We love to have volunteers who speak another language.

    RVs: If you have a small to medium size RV we can arrange to park it and run an electric cord and water hose to it but we don't have permanent hookups for electricity, water or sewage.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    General Maintenance
    Farmstay
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Language practice
    Art project

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    I keep leaving this blank because I am not sure what this means. When we have volunteers they learn from us and we learn from them. Everyday we eat together and work together. We share information about our lives. Is that cultural exhcange? if so, that’s what we offer.

  • Help

    Help

    We need help with our goats, dogs, chickens, large gardens, harvesting and preserving veggies, help with ongoing projects, building maintenance and construction, wood cutting, and household chores. What you will be asked to do depends on your skill set and what we are trying to accomplish at the time.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English, limited Italian, French, German and Spanish

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    A bunk room with a sink, microwave, fridge, half bath and shower. Laundry facilities and laundry soap are available. If volunteers want them, we provide bedding, towels, toilet paper, tissues, basic first aid supplies, and soap.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Our volunteers are free to use their free time as they like but we don't assume any responsibility for their transportation.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    5 hours per day. Two full days a week completely off. The days might not be consecutive.


Host ref number: 687859552921