Home-sitters wanted in the wild heart of the Yukon, Canada

Country

Canada

Favourited 168 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    2  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    26/10/2020

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 1 day

 
  2020 

 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Periodically looking for HOME-SITTERS (ONLY COUPLE OR 2 FRIENDS).
    Usually for 2.5 weeks in March (when we go on an extended ski-trip) and for periods of 2 weeks between Mid-June and September (when we go hiking or mountain-biking). Our farm is remote and off-the-grid and we are looking for people with experience with animals and a rural lifestyle. You also need you own transportation, there is no public transportation to our area.
    Please note that Doug has a chronic condition which puts him in a high risk category in case of infection with Covid-19 and we will only consider people who understand the seriousness of the pandemic and have taken all reasonable precautions to avoid being infected and spreading the disease.

    We homestead in a remote beautiful area of Central Yukon, 15km outside the Town of Faro. We have 7 dogs, 3 horses, 2 Llamas and a big vegetable garden in the summer. For our energy needs we use solar and wind generators and wood for heat. We are 2 middle-aged adults with no children, both passionate about the outdoors and very active. Doug worked as a Park Ranger and Yasmine is a keen naturalist who guided hiking and canoeing tours. We are animal lovers and do our best to lead a life based on respect for nature and all living beings.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    General Maintenance
    Farmstay help
    Help around the house
    Animal Care

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    This is a unique opportunity to experience and off-the-grid homestead in the wilderness of Central Yukon. We offer all food and meals to our volunteers and can accommodate vegetarians and meat eaters alike. We bake a lot and make our own bread. We will gladly teach you how to make delicious bread yourself. Please note that our diet is mostly plant-based and that we do not eat meat everyday. Our surroundings are stunning, there is lots of wildlife (which means that you have to pay attention and follow safety rules) and there are beautiful opportunities for hiking, biking and x-country skiing in the surroundings. You will learn to be self-sufficient, to garden in sometimes challenging conditions, and to be deeply connected to nature and the elements. We are open, curious and friendly people who enjoy sharing our knowledge and welcome new ideas!

  • Help

    Help

    We are looking for reliable and caring home-sitters at times when we are gone. You need to have some experience with animals and a rural life style and you need to be fluent in English as you will be here alone and need to be able to communicate without difficulties in case of an emergency. You will be in charge of feeding the animals, keeping the house clean, looking after the garden and any other tasks that might be needed periodically. There will still be lots of time for you to enjoy the beautiful wilderness around us.

  • Languages spoken

    German: Fluent
    English: Fluent
    French: Fluent

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    In the summer, you will stay in a cute Guest Cabin. It has comfy beds with duvets, a wood stove, a small cooking area and an outdoor fire pit and picnic table. In the winter and when we are absent, you will be hosted in the house in our guest room.
    In the house, we offer full access to our kitchen, shower, and we have cell service via a signal booster. We have an outhouse.
    All food is provided by us and we cook and eat with our helpers.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    There is no public transportation to our Farm and you should have your own vehicle. We have no internet and use our cell phone to connect to internet. We do not have a regular phone (land line). We have an outhouse, a TV, lots of books and movies, a shower and running water in the house.
    This position is for people who are at peace with themselves in nature. For some people, our Farm will be too lonely, for others, staying here will be the experience of a life-time. You are welcome to contact us and get as much information as possible to find out if this is a good fit for you!
    Please also note that we have zero tolerance for drug use (even cannabis) and alcohol abuse.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    in the summer 2-3.5 hours daily

On the Pelly barge with out 2 horse after a trip
Llama hiking in the Pelly Mountains
The view from the porch in late summer
Ski-trip into the Wind River
Our house
On the 65 km long Dena Cho Trail between Faro and Ross River
Some of our home-grown food!
Aurora over the farm
Little Salmon Lake
The view from the porch in the fall
Nearby Lake in the fall

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)




Host ref number: 686754692835