Join our family living in a small village 30 km from Amsterdam, Netherlands

Country

Netherlands

Favourited 492 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    36  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    14/10/2021

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    88.9 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 3 days

  • Badges

    Top Host
 
  2021 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Hello, we are a friendly family living in a small village (Ursem). Our names are Gerard, Rosalyn, Evelyn (11) and Anthony (9). We live in a typical Dutch farmhouse at the border of the village. In these 'corona times', we offer a relatively remote and therefore safe environment. We see our place as 'away from the crowded Amsterdam and into the heritage of North Holland.' The cities Hoorn and Alkmaar are at biking distance, though and very attractive for a daytrip. Amsterdam can be reached by public transport, though you will need to bicycle a few kms to the nearest bus stop.

    Our premises include a very large garden and grassland with two lovely ponies for our kids. Our house is "climate neutral", we generate 100% of our power usage by solar.

    We look primarily for single volunteers, often female and we do host travelling couples. We really need help with domestic (cleaning) work and with mainting the garden, a person just being there for the children when they come home from school and perhaps you can help sometimes with a DIY project of Gerard.

    Workaway travellers will find their stay with us comfortable; you can use our indoor swimming pool and you can use our bicycles to venture around. Trains to Amsterdam depart every half hour from Hoorn (11 km from our place) and the train takes about half an hour to the Amsterdam city center. You can also go by bus (cheaper); the bus stop is about 9 km from our place.

    The infamous Dutch weather is actually quite nice in the countryside, also in autumn and wintertime. It may be a bit windy and rainy on some days but then there's so much to do that you probably won't bother too much.

    Your accomodation will be one of our bedrooms in our guest house. The guest house is also being used by a 'longer term guest', a personal friend of us who needs a few months shelter as a result of relationship trouble.

    You are welcome to join our family over meals and drinks and we love to cook together with you. Without doubt there's a lot we can learn from your (cooking) culture.

    A little bit of background about ourselves; we are both lawyers, running a small law firm in a close-by city. Rosalyn is now primarily dedicated however to her position as a governor/alderman of the municipality.

    We have quite some animals at home: two ponies, two dogs (one of them is a puppy now in late summer 2021), a cat and an old and weary turkey. We are quite sure you'll love them.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    Animal Care
    Babysitting and creative play
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We are very interested to learn from your background and culture and talk with you about ours. We can help you (if you so wish) to explore Amsterdam, where we lived for over 20 years - we recently moved to the countryside. In fact, we developed for our workaway guests a unique tour guide on paper to show you the best spots in Amsterdam, explaining about the historical background. You will also learn a lot about the beauty and history of Holland (i.a. how old windmills still work!).

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Help

    Help

    Refer to the above. Please ask any questions that you may have.

    We are primarily looking for help to keep our house clean (quite a challenge for it is rather big) and for keeping an eye on our kids after school. They have a very independent character though, so you will find that they do not depend on you in their own perspective. They are lovely and sweet children, though.

    You can also help with maintaining our ponies, dogs, cat and turkey, and help with maintaining their places and gardening (i.a. mowing the grass with our little tractor).

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    Dutch: Fluent
    German: Intermediate
    French: Beginner

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Bedroom within our guest house, including a double bed and a bathtub.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Refer to the text above. Please ask any questions that you may have.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    Our wifi & internet works perfectly whereas we have glass fiber network. We also have a great working space including a very large table with the best view over the country side.

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    We have enough parking space on our premises for your campervan or car.

  • Can possibly accept pets

    Can possibly accept pets

    If you bring a dog with you, it is always uncertain how the dogs go about with each other. We do not accept all types of dogs on our premises, for safety reasons. Please tell us in advance to discuss whether your pet can come with you.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 5 hours a day, 5 days a week

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)























Host ref number: 684761114511