Join our animal liberation and vegan sanctuary in Brandenburg, Germany

  • Germany
  • Favourited 734 times
  • Last activity: 05/02/2023

Availability

  2023 

 Min stay requested: at least 1 month

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D

Details

  • Description

    Description

    Who we are
    We are an animal liberation organization (and registered society) based in Brandenburg, Germany.



    During 2018 we were able to save more than 200 sheep from slaughter and to shelter 14 pigs as well as 4 cows. That was the beginning of our journey. Meanwhile, we care for more than 400 animals, including cows, geese, pigs, ducks, horses, bunnies, sheep, cats and dogs. We are partitioned in two sanctuaries: Our big sanctuary, located in Hermersdorf and a smaller one, located in Hasenholz. We are always looking for helpers for both of the locations. By the way: Its just a 20min drive between the two locations and it may happen that you will help on both sanctuaries, depending on the capacity and needs. Our project is not a normal farmsanctuary, it is bigger and more like a "start-up".


    The sanctuary in Hermersdorf:
    
The area on our main sanctuary was several years ago a mass animal facility and is still being rebuilt and adapted to the new requirements. We renovated the living area including the bathroom in 2021. You will sleep in a heated camper and you will have access to a kitchen area to cook and relax. We have a washing machine there and WIFI. If you need luxury, this place is not for you. Please note: Our sanctuary manager Matty and team member Katharina are living on the sanctuary as well.


    The sanctuary in Hasenholz

    The sanctuary in Hasenholz is based on the home of our chairwoman Elisabeth. She lives in a 96m² house with a 5200m² piece of land. Elisabeth and team member Dshamilja are living in the house as well. For helpers we offer a zoned space in the living room with their own bed and cabinet. There is one bathroom with a bathtube in the house. Also a kitchen and a spacious living room, with a very nice free view on the landscape, to share. Here you can make yourself delicious vegan food after a day of (mostly hard) work. WIFI is available. Please note that there is hardly time to cook together so you are responsible for cooking your own meals (applies to both of the locations). And please note further: there are dogs and cats inside the house.





    The work (applies for both of the locations):

    We care the whole day for the animals. There is no "5 hour work and then freetime". The work extends from (early) morning to evening, with space for your own activities. You will have your freetime in between. The work is exhausting and you probably wouldn't get enough energy left for reading books in the evening. 
We are still improving our organizational processes and the work changes with the needs of the animals. Main tasks are taking care of the animals including, cleaning the dung out, cleaning stables, paddocks and the outside areas, gardening and lots of support work for our sanctuary manager.
    For Hasenholz: Please be aware that keeping the house clean is also part of the regular tasks.
    Please note that feeding is a very sensitive job which will be done just by our core team and the sanctuary manager. This probably won’t be a main task for new helpers.

    The animals feel safe and are loved here so you NEED to be an animal lover here. 




    The animals

    Almost all of our animals were planned to be killed. We saved the sheep from slaughter, the calves from malnutrion and early death, the pigs from euthanasia after animal testing and the geese from the Christmas Dinner. We have also street cats and dogs, horses, goats, bunnies and ducks. If you are on social media, you will find lots of pictures and videos of the animals.


    
The ideal candidate:
    - has time for at least 4 weeks (less than 4 weeks is sometimes possible but needs to be discusses individually)

    - is vegan: vegans tend to understand the project better, it is absolutely necessary to have empathy and compassion for the animals and also to us people. And: we just provide vegan food for your stay.

    - speaks English or German, because good communication is very important

    - has a flexible schedule due to the occasional changes in the animals' needs, which is to be expected in farmlife
    - is not allergic to animal hair, hay or smiliar
    - is mentally and physically able to do hard physical work
    - is able to work pro-active and to internalize workflows quickly
    - is an absolute team player

    Please not: Two people who travel together are possible - it is easier to split the work and to work with someone you know (but its not a must of course). Having a car driver license is preferred.

    

What we can offer you:
    
- valuable experience in a vegan project, that is rare to find: We turn a former mass facility into a sanctuary. That is pioneer work.
    - You will get in touch with animals, that you usually don't see and that show you their characters and individuality

    - Delicious vegan food, a lot of love and many many karma points <3
    And: If your are interested in buddhism, you can get in contact with tibetan buddhism. 




    If you are travelling on your own and aren't completly vegan yet, but are really motivated and willing to help us, it could also work. Just contact us and we will talk about it.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Charity Work
    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Animal Care
    Farmstay help
    General Maintenance
  • UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    You see a sanctuary as a start up, can learn teamwork, get in contact with a lot of vegan animal lovers and see how easy it is to connect as human beeings when you have the same ideas and goals.

  • Help

    Help

    Daily care for the animals and the sanctuary

  • Languages spoken

    German: Fluent
    English: Fluent

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Hermersdorf: heated camper on the sanctuary
    Hasenholz: zoned area in the living room with a bed and closet

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    There are many beautiful lakes and forest around here (Märkische Schweiz Natur Park), it is very nice for swimming and biking.
    It is quite close to Berlin, you would be able to get there by train within an hour. It is also close to the Polish border (about 40 mins by train).

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    This host can provide space for campervans.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    4-5 hours a day

Host ref number: 682244986634

Feedback (8)



Feedback

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (4.8)

Communication: (5.0)










Stay with a young international family near Heidelberg, Germany
Join our team in the wonderful town of Bonn, Germany