Help on our organic farm in Sunny Valley, Oregan, USA

Country

United States

Favourited 121 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    1  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    13/07/2020

 
  2020 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Hello good people of the world! Our family runs a 1.5 acre organic production vegetable farm in a beautiful part of southern Oregon. We have been growing mixed vegetable and fruits for local farmers markets and co-ops for ten years. Located right on the edge of a year round creek with multiple swimming holes, it’s a great place to learn about agriculture and escape from society. We grow organically and sustainably by practicing a variety of permaculture based techniques. Since I (Dean the founder) am a carpenter in the winter time there is always a building project going on to help the farm business grow into a more professional operation. We also grow out of 6000 square feet of hoop houses, two of which are movable. There are many picture perfect places to tent or car camp on our 20 acre parcel of land! Our intern cabins may or may not be available one sleeps two the other is a three walled elevated and covered 64 square foot semi enclosed cabin, so depending upon who can stay the longest will get the cabins. The main one is two story, creek side, and private with stove and refrigerator available. We’re looking for people who can to spend time alone and be self entertained when it is no longer time to help. I’m looking for one or two people who can stay at least 2 weeks. The willingness to sometimes help into evenings hours is required and much appreciated in case harvest goes long. Basic food ingredients will be provided for a healthy diet. Sorry but no pets.
    Thanks for checking us out, Dean

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    General Maintenance
    Farmstay
    Help with Eco project
    Animal care

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Travellers will be apart of my family. The farm houses three generations. You could say it's a family community with respect for each other's space but eagerness and opportunity to work together and learn from one another. The only culture I have to share is farming. I think it is a common denominator that can connect us all.

  • Help

    Help

    Volunteers on the farm are only required to be willing, able, and actually enjoy working with nature, to learn about how a small market farmer makes a life from an acre. Helping days are Monday through Friday 5 hours a day.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    Spanish: Beginner

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Camping, and a cabin that overlooks the creek, sleeps two, with a covered kitchen and bathroom beneath the cabin.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    The farm is located 20 miles north of Grants Pass, two hours from the ocean, one hour from Ashland and only fifteen minutes away from the Rogue River. Oregon is a state for outdoor enthusiasts there is plenty of hiking, biking, rafting, and tubing to keep any nature lover in paradise. Our farm has a rock wall and creek to play in during down time. We live 5 miles off interstate five. There is one daily bus to Grants Pass. At our farm we enjoy a good laugh, good medicine, and an early bedtime.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week


Host ref number: 676134322413