Come and help on my organic farm just out of Adelaide, South Australia

Country

Australia

Favourited 61 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    18  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    08/12/2019

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 1 day

  • Badges

    Super Host
Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Organic farm comprising of cherries, olives, avocados, citrus and stonefruit.
    The season determines the work:
    November and April: nets over trees;
    January and July,: nets off
    Harvesting: cherries in December and January, olives in April and May; Pruning trees is all year round while slashing the grass is in October, Nov. and March.
    I am 6 years into building a home/house out of tree trunks and stone, so there is building and house construction being done (stone walls; window insertion and woodworking); landscaping (stone walls, paths, gardening and fencing)going on at various times of the year as well. LOTS TO DO!.....LOTS TO EXPERIENCE!
    I am a single male,60 yo.
    Self contained caravan (for 2 persons maximum) is the accommodation.(see photos) Vegetarian dietary offerings; food will be supplied; it can be communal or seperate depending on preferences.
    Prefer NON SMOKERS
    Experience the uniqueness of our Australian countryside and our hospitality in a tranquil setting.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Farmstay

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Learn about the running and the maintainance of an organic farm and working with the land using permaculture methods. Learn unique building skills that will be with you for the rest of your life.

  • Help

    Help

    Be enthusiastic and willing to learn.
    Gardening skills are not necessary, some tractor work; ride-on lawnmower work. Picking fruit. Pruning fruit trees can be learnt along the way. Netting also;
    House building: stonework; painting; woodworking and some paving.
    If you have skills to share, all the better!

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English and French

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Fully equipped caravan with cooking facilities. Sleeps 2 people (See photos)

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    If transport is available, the coast is 20 minutes away. One of South Australia's wine regions (McLaren Vale) is just over the hill. Historic tourist destination, Hahndorf, is only 25 mins away. Adelaide- the major city - is a 40 minute drive away if needed. A local library is 10 mins away should internet access be needed

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Stall set-up for selling the organic produce.
These two koala are the latest addition to the local population!
Another view of the house from the bedroom loft.
Local visitors in the driveway.
The caravan kitchen/bedroom
The caravan kitchen/lounge
Oops! Sorry about this photo!
Here are my permanent "lawn-mowers" for the back paddock!
A view of the other cherry orchard among the lush vegetation.
One of the cherry orchards
A view of the house from inside.

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)











Host ref number: 671776316662