Help at our farm near Mysore, India

Country

India

Favourited 13 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    28/11/2021

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 1 day

 
  2021 

 Min stay requested: 1 month or more

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    my wife and i moved to Mysore following my retirement in 2010. We have a 7.5acre farm 14km from the city centre in a picturesque setting along the River Kaveri .We have coconut trees,cocoa shrubs,mango,sapota ( chikoo), and a smaller number of custard apple,guava,amla,areca,drumstick,jamun trees as well as gulmohur,neem,tamarind,melia,teak, and other evergreens.tulsi,curry leaves also in abundance.however our efforts to grow vegetables have been largely unsuccessful. there is also an annexe with a kitchen, 2 tiny bedrooms and detached bathroom. our location is our main attraction as we are just 4km upstream from ranganathitoo bird sanctuary and there is plenty of birdlife around our farm.our place is offered on a self catering basis with limited service.Mysore is a popular hub for Yoga. Just 130km from Bangalore and offering a diversity of attractions within a 2/3 hour radius

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Farmstay help
    General Maintenance

  • UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Mysore is a vibrant destination with a multitude of attractions including wildlife,heritage, culture,cuisine,crafts and nature. it is an international yoga hub. we are part of several organic communities

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Help

    Help

    the primary help we are seeking is to assist with farm work and improve our diversity. help with visitors would be a bonus. we follow organic sustainable practises.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    Hindi: Fluent
    Bengali (Bangla): Intermediate
    Tamil: Intermediate
    Kannada: Beginner

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    we will provide accommodation in our annexe which is very basic with 2 tiny bedrooms, a bathroom with access to a functional kitchen in. this is in our 7.5 acre farm , surrounded by greenery.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    we expect about 4/5 hours work with plenty of free time

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    we do not have good signal strength but can help with getting a sim for mobile connectivity

  • Can possibly accept pets

    Can possibly accept pets

    we have 2 dogs ourselves

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week


Host ref number: 671749658847