Creation + Sustainable Living, Non-profit Projects close to Manhattan, New York, USA

Country

United States

updated  

Favourited 935 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    75  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    24/02/2020

  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    824

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 2 days

  • Badges

    Top Host
    Facebook verified
 
  2020 

 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Looking for a low-key, independent workaway, a 15 minute ride into Manhattan?.

    Looking for WA's to join us in a cultural exchange in Jersey City, outside of Manhattan.
    Sandy, my husband, is the CTO of a post production film company and enjoys
    I, Jennifer, am an Admissions Consultant for high school and college students.
    Marta, is a workaway guest that came to stay with us three years ago and never left :).

    We all love our city and look forward to sharing our home with you.

    We need work exchangers the following sets of dates:
    1 spot 4/20-5/1
    1 spot 7/1 -20
    2 spots from 8/17 onwards
    1 spot from 10/5 onwards

    Some of the spring stays are shorter, but usually we love it if people can stay a month+.
    Please let us know the soonest you'd like to arrive, latest you'd like to stay, and how long you'd like to stay.

    To apply please send a message after reading everything in our profile. Preference also given to those who clearly have read everything.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    Other
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Charity work
    Art project
    Teaching

  • UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    There is a lot to see and experience in NYC. People from all walks of life and countries live here and will be your new neighbors. Discover the melting pot of our city and meet guests that stay with us from across the world.

    Practice your English with our guests.
    Learn about sustainable living and how to decrease waste in your life.
    Pick up a skill or two building :)

  • Help

    Help

    CREATING EDUCATIONAL MATERIALS
    Hello guests. My passion project is creating resources that increase accessibility to educational resources to those of all socioeconomic backgrounds. I'd like to meet other interested in helping me with this project. Basic drawing skills ok. If you have illustration or design skills, even better. I'd love to have some folks draft the material and other realize them by creating the graphics for this materials to be shared online on site Equality.Education

    CREATING VIDEOS ON SUSTAINABLE LIVING
    I maintain a little Youtube Page where my husband and I feature videos looking into our lives as Minimalist Nomads. I'd love to have some guests - who have the same lifestyle - create some simple videos of their own take on this lifestyle, which I can then feature on the Youtube page to teach others about this fun and freeing lifestyle!

    BUILDING
    Creating a backyard space that allows for building of garden beds, more growing, and composting!
    And also helping with smaller tasks inside this home. We have hired contractors to handle the professional stuff, but work exchange guests may be able to help in filling the home with art, painting, handmade and secondhand furniture, etc.
    Maybe.. are you a muralist? A mosaic artist? Painter? Let us know what kind of art you can create to be shared!

    GARDENING
    Helping to grow produce in our organic backyard garden beds that can be shared among the work exchange team and ourselves

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English, a little French/German/Spanish

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    You will be residing in our 100 year+ old rowhouse in Jersey City, of which we rent 6 of the 8 bedrooms (Room # 1 the 3 work exchange guests share).

    Our house was partially renovated by a team of past work exchange volunteers, working alongside contractors (we have hosted 90+ volunteers over the last three years!) to create new stairs, a new roof with two skylights, new siding and eco -friendly insulation, new closets, new kitchen, extended bottom floor ending in dining room, etc. Behind the house is a backyard filled with garden beds full of wildflowers in the spring/summer/fall.

    There is a full kitchen with every type of cooking tool you may need, plus plenty of dishes, utensils, etc, and our large kitchen table is where the plans for the Ellis Island Museum (next to the Statue of Liberty and the place where sooo many immigrants were welcomed to NYC, and to the US) were created!

    We keep some supplies on hand for you to use, and you will have a part of the refrigerator and pantry to store your food.
    We don't provide food as it is quite expensive for us to maintain a place in the NYC metro area, but there are lots of cheap grocery stores around.

    CLIMATE:
    We are LGBQT, immigrant, religion/ethnicity/nationality friendly. We appreciate you share that same passion of treating other equally, no matter their background.

    LOCATION:
    Jersey City is like the 6th borough of NYC; you're closer to all the liveliness of the city than if you were in most parts of Brooklyn, Queens, or the Bronx, and yet shopping is much cheaper, so you can live on less.

    9 minute walk to the Journal Square subway station, and a 15 minute ride on the underground PATH train.

    Our Bnb is conveniently an 8 minute walk to the Journal Square PATH train stop, and then a 15 minute subway ride directly into Manhattan. The Path subway train stops in the West Village, Financial District, Union Square, Chelsea, and Midtown Manhattan. Our neighborhood, Journal Square, is an up and coming hotspot, right across the Hudson River, from Manhattan. It is safe and teeming with restaurants and all of the conveniences of a city.

    SHARED ROOM:
    1 bedroom is shared by 3 work exchange guests - each work exchange guest has his or her own bed and storage space.

    WHAT's PROVIDED:
    A flexible schedule
    Comfy accommodations
    Fresh sheets and towels
    Fast wifi
    A large washer/dryer for you to do laundry

    Please - in writing to us - tell us:
    *️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️Why you are interested in doing a Workaway with us
    *️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️Your dates and flexibility for arrival/departure dates.

    Please let us know the soonest you'd like to arrive, latest you'd like to stay, and how long you'd like to stay.

    *️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️When you are available M-F between 8a-6p EST to Skype video chat with me, as well as your Skype username. We video interview everyone so you can be sure of who you will be meeting and vice versa!

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Lots to see. New York City is one of the best ( and our favorite! )
    Whether Manhattan, Brooklyn, Queens, Staten Island, or the Bronx - and of course North Jersey!

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 3 hours a day, 5 days a week

All-star Derek stayed with us 7 months out of the last year and made delicious, delicious pizza for all.
Work exchange and guests all eating dinner together :)
Your hosts - Jen and Sandy
Macarena, Brandon, and Marta pickling beets from our backyard garden.
Christmas Dinner with our volunteers!
Selina, from Germany, helping to make garlic bread during Christmas dinner
Allan, one of our volunteers, waiting to sink his teeth into pie at one of our dinners
Two of our volunteers from France hanging out in our kitchen

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)












































Host ref number: 671111229335