Help at my house in the beautiful area of highland Perthshire, Scotland.

Country

United Kingdom

Favourited 310 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    4  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    26/02/2020

  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    186

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    77.8 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 3 days

  • Badges

    Facebook verified
 
  2020 

 Min stay requested: 1 month or more

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    ABOUT ME

    I am a young (ish) 35 year old ex-graphic designer & photographer who became tired of the industry and tried my hand to something else. I now garden full time. I am looking to do more gardening this year and next and need someone to help do up my house, there is lots to do including, gardening, painting, basic building and diy, etc.

    Im pretty relaxed and easy going, all I ask is you work hard for 5hrs Five days a week and in return you will get a nice little room, plenty of food and a decent place to stay!

    I’ve done a bit of travelling when I was younger, not nearly as much as I would have liked! I spent around 6 years in Tirol, Austria. Switzerland, austria and Canada are my three favourite places. I am hoping to permanently move to one of these places at some point. In the meantime I have commitments in Scotland including a bed and breakfast and three dogs.

    I’m a single guy who is busy with work and loves country living. Alongside the bed and breakfast I have a gardening business. In my spare time i like to work out, ( there is a basic gym in the garage, it’s rough and ready but feel free to do the same), I cycle, I love learning new skills and like to do upcycling projects, woodworking, upholstery and I enjoy playing around with my Volkswagen campervan which I am currently doing up. I would say I am pretty creative in general but graphic design and photography, which is what I studied is now playing less of a part in my life.

    I love film and music and documentaries. I also like... Photography/Outdoors/Cycling/Nature/Dogs/Snowboarding/The Sea and Coast/Camper Vans/Tiny Houses/Mountains and Forests/Upcycling/ Food/Self-sustainability/Fitness/Retro-vintage/Wildlife.

    It's Always Sunny in Philadelphia/ Breaking Bad/Dexter/Trailer Park Boys/The Office/peep Show/walking Dead.

    Zombie Flicks/Horror/Coen Brothers/Terry Gilliam/Tim Burton/80s Flicks.

    I think I am generally pretty good at getting on with most people however having like minded young creative people around is always good and I love meeting people that are passionate about creativity.

    WHO WOULD BE A GREAT WORKAWAYER

    I am looking for a a female workaway as one of my dogs has had a tough life And been abused by a male so so is generally frightened of men. She takes a while to warm to females too, if you are lucky it may be instant or it could be a while longer, she can be selective!

    Someone who loves animals. I am a big animal lover and have three dogs and generally appreciate all animals.

    Someone one who is friendly, consistent and hardworking. Someone who is a free thinker, creative and open minded. Someone who is not overly serious and even a tad crazy!

    I am a vegetarian so no meat will be cooked for the meals unfortunately. A vegetarian or vegan would be great or on the other hand a meat eater that is happy to eat a vegetarian diet while here. I am not adverse to meat eaters in the slightest and if you want to buy your own meat then go fo it however I wouldn’t want meat cooked in the house as it tends to smell for a period of time so ready cooked meat would be ideal.

    I would really prefer non-smokers.

    I am open to people coming to help/stay for shorter periods of time however ideally I would like someone to stay longer. 3 to 6 months, however try me!

    THE PERKS

    Although you would be asked to help 5 hours and 5 days a week I am pretty flexible and if you wanted to explore elsewhere for say 4 days in one week, I would be good with this and you could make up the lost two days the week later.

    There are certain hours in the day you would need to help and possibly certain days I would prefer you to help too but however there are also plenty of flexible hours and potentially flexible days.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Farmstay
    Other
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Generally just have a chilled out experience and maybe learn a few things on the way, get to see the area and Enjoy everything that Perthshire has to offer. It is relatively rural here so to see the most of the area having a car would help you but there are also bus and trains.

  • Help

    Help

    I have just bought a new house in Pitlochry, Perthshire, Scotland.

    I basically need help as it is needing lots done inside and out. Gardening, building, painting, other bits and pieces around the house and general duties, diy, etc. Basically anything that needs done. There is a good amount of gardening work and manual labour along with interior decorating.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    Intermediate German, English

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    You will have your own furnished double room with smart tv.

    Alongside this You will give you three meals a day and plenty of food. You will get a continental breakfast in the morning, a varied lunch and a hearty meal in the evening. It would be required that most of the meals are prepared by you which will be part of the five hours you work daily. If there are extra things that I would require you to do that day, it may be that I cook and you can help me in other areas.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Discover the beautiful area of highland Perthshire in between helping me out. There are bus routes close by and lots of walking.

    The area is one of the nicest parts of mainland Scotland in between Aberfeldy and Pitlochry. The surround scenery is breathtaking and it’s quite an affluent area of Scotland

    A stroll around the local area

    There is so much to see and do in the local area. In our small village of Strathay and on the doorstep of Carnish is the River Tay less than 50 metres away. We are surrounded by streams, forests, fields and wildlife. A short walk away, less than 5 minutes is Strathtay Golf Course and a little further is the centre of the village with our local post office.

    Heading down to Grandtully which adjoins Strathtay and less than 10 minutes walk is a bridge that crosses the River Tay. On the other side you will find the Inn on the Tay, a local restaurant and pub which offers great food in both the bar and restaurant area and a great cosy country atmosphere where you can spend your evening relaxing and enjoying a few drinks. There is also a local chocolatier and shop.

    Walking, cycling and hiking in the local area

    There is an old railway track which is a great walk into Aberfeldy and is suitable for both walking and cycling. There are also a number of ways you can walk and cycle over the hills and down into Pitlochry. Right on our doorstep there is a walk which will take you all the way into Pitlochry and has some breathtaking scenery. On the opposite side of the river and a small drive away is the Grandtully forest walk with more amazing views from up high. Aberfeldy has the Birks of Aberfeldy walk with waterfalls and lovely views and there are so many more walks, hikes and cycling routes around the area to suit all ages and levels of ability.

    There are also a large number of big climbs and Munros around the area including some of the well know hills such as Lawers, Schiehallion, Ben Chonzie & Meall nan Tarmachan to name a few.

    Strathtay is ideally situated for travelling to both Pitlochry and Aberfeldy. Roughly six miles from Aberfeldy and nine to Pitlochry they are both easily accessible by car, bike or by foot depending out how energetic you are feeling.

    We are also ideally situated for exploring Perthshire and beyond with easy access to the A9 heading towards the Cairngorms and the north or heading towards the hills, glens and loch of Perthshire such as Glen Lyon, the longest Glen in Scotland and Ben Lawers, Kenmore, Loch Tay and Kinloch Rannoch and the Moors to name a few. All around 25 minutes to 50 minute away.

    Things to see

    There are a large number of things to see and do in the local area and neighbouring towns. Being situated in the middle between Aberfeldy and Pitlochry you are only a short drive away from both towns. In Pitlochry you have The Festival Theatre, a number of famous Distilleries, The Hydro Dam and Fishladder, Queen's View and in the Autumn, The Enchanted Forest to name a few. In Aberfeldy, you have the Birks Cinema, Dewar’s Aberfeldy Distillery and The Watermill.

    In and around the surrounding area you also have Castle Menzies, Taymouth Castle, Highland Safaris, Land Rover Experience Scotland, Nae Limits Rafting, Cluny House Gardens, Highland Fling Bungee Jumping, Bolfracks Garden, Keltneyburn Smithy Gallery, The Crannog Centre, The Hot Box Lochside Sauna, Taymouth Marina Watersports and much more.

    There is plenty local shooting, rafting, cycling, hillwalking & sightseeing.


    Wildlife in the local area

    There is an abundance of local wildlife right on the doorstep with plenty of sheep, pheasants, cows, ducks and birds. You may also spot Red Squirrels, Great Spotted Woodpeckers, Mistle Thrush, Sparrow Hawks, Heron, Goldfinch, Fieldfare, Stoats, Bank Voles, Frogs, Toads and Newts, Siskens, Dunnocks, Tawny Owls, Grey Wagtails, Buzzards & Eagles.a

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    One

  • ...

    Hours expected

    5 hours a day, 5 days a week




Host ref number: 666821667833