Join our sustainable living community in Undersåker, Sweden

Country

Sweden

Favourited 32 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    1  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    22/10/2020

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    94.4 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 2 days

 
  2020 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We welcome you to stay with us on Rabarbergården!

    On the farm we are mainly 4 households working and living together as family. My name is Jörgen, I’m the one with sheep and a constant flow of international trainees and apprentices. Across the road lives Maja and Gid. The best bakers in the village, providing everyone with freshly baked bread and the most delicious cinnamon buns, all being sold in the small supermarket of Undersåker. In the same house as them lives Olle, Karin and their 2 year old son. Karin works with photography and design, whilst Olle is a carpenter and runs some of the many building projects in Åre. The last person in this community is Lilian, an author who is dedicating her life to help others through her extensive knowledge about nature and how to be connected to it.

    At the same time as we all have different dreams we share the will to live as a community, working together with everything on the farm. Feeding chickens, moving sheep, weeding, house maintenance ect. We are always in transformation, open to new ideas, animals and people! One year we had pigs, for a period we had some turkeys and ducks and at the moment our good friend Behboud is doing beekeeping with us!
    Together we strive to live a happy and healthy life in sync with nature.

    Since I’m the one inviting workawayers you’ll spend most of the time with me, working with cows and sheep. On a normal day I check my quite big flock of sheep (they are about 500) who are located somewhere close to the village. Along with the lines of Holistic Management I usually move the sheep every third or fourth day, resulting in a few hours work with taking down and putting up new paddocks. I also check my cows and calves to make sure everyone is happy and content.

    2002 we created Fjällbete, a learning site for regenerative agriculture and Holistic Management. Our mission is to improve ecosystem function, heal degraded soil and build biodiversity in grasslands using our animals.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Help with Eco Projects
    Animal Care

  • UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Regenerative agriculture is a broad topic. We define it as "enabling highest imaginable vitality in our ecosystems by satisfying human needs". We always enjoy conversations within this topic and learning from each other. One may say we have two target groups, one being people who want to become regenerative farmers/ranchers. And the other being people wanting to become more aware as consumers of food and enablers of vital ecosystems!

  • Help

    Help

    2 months ago I got a stroke that affected my sight, and because of that I lost my drivers license. My sight is already recovering and I can do all my work without any complications caused by the stroke, except the driving.

    During summer my animals are spread out around the village and I’m moving them quite often. Therefore I’m dependent on my car as a basic premise of being able to move my self, my dogs and the equipment to my sheep.

    I need someone with drivers license that could help me get to my animals. I usually need to be driven two times a day, and the hours are very flexible! I’m always happy to have people interested in animals and agriculture around, so if you want to help me with the daily tasks you are of course welcome to do so. Even though the driving is the most important thing I need help with at the moment!

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    Swedish: Fluent
    Spanish: Beginner

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    We have a small cabin for workawayers with two beds in it, just outside my house! You are a part of our family while you're here so you can spend as much time as you want to in the house. We share kitchen, bathroom etc.

    We share meals together.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We are situated in a very beautiful and accessible landscape. Our valley is a tourist resort with endless opportunities to visit and participate in "tourist stuff"!

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    4


Host ref number: 662873411216