Lake District- general home maintainance type help; mainly painting, cleaning and some refurbishment - England, UK

Country

United Kingdom

Favourited 48 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    1  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    18/09/2019

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    95.4 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 4 days

Contact Register
  2019 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    I am a father of 2 children. I teach mathematics to children aged 11 to 16 years of age and am also a photographic artist. I practice yoga / meditation and believe that we should treat each other with love and kindness. A simple approach to life, but it works for me! :)

    My 2 grown up children visit occasionally, but they do not live with me. So my current story, is that I have just bought a home in Cumbria England, returning to the Lake District after a few of years away. For those who do not know this area, it is said to be the most beautiful place in England, if not the world! :) Poets, artists and indeed anyone who enjoys the outdoors and nature will love this area. However my new home needs decorating and fixing up a little and so I would like some help with it. So help me and I will do my best to help you! 🙏, especially if you want to explore the Lake District! 😊

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Help in the house

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    I know this area very well and have walked just about every mountain in this region....I can offer advice on wild camping, walking, climbing. I have maps etc and I can also offer some mountain guiding too.

    I am a maths teacher up to GCSE level and a photographic artist with much knowledge in these areas, so could offer some tuition to those interested. And obviously, I can offer some help in learning English as a 2nd language, although I have no language teaching experience.

    In general, I know a little about a lot of things and can provide a decent converation (in English) for all those interested. 😊

  • Help

    Help

    The help I need is general home maintainance type work; mainly painting and painting preparation work. Some general plastering/carpentry/building skills maybe be useful too. Outside also needs some painting and gardening too. Somebody able to cook and perform some general cleaning duties would be also be very useful. Dont worry about having all the skillls listed, as I am flexible to place any volunteers according to their strengths.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English and a little French

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Volunteers will sleep in their own bedroom. All the rooms except for the kitchen are decorated and carpeted now! There are all the usual creature comforts. Things in the kitchen will obviously become more orderly as decorating progresses. 😊

    I am a vegetarian, so meat would not be on the menu.
    Food: help yourself in the morning; for lunch and evening meal somebody will prepare for the group. Weekends will be a sort yourself situation with only breakfast provided.

    Clearer guidelines on house rules will be provided closer to any volunteer arriving :)

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    The nearest city is Carlisle, a city on the border with Scotland and rich in culture and history, which is just 30 minutes drive away. There are good transport links from here to Scotland and its capital of Edinburgh and also Glasgow. The major English city of Newcastle is a short train or bus journey too.

    Keswick at the heart of the Lake District is only 20 minutes drive away, offering a great variety of outdoor activities from hiking to mountain biking to paragliding.

    So all in all, city life or the great outdoors can be within easy reach.

    It must be noted that tansport is a bit limited in this rural location. It is a 45 minute walk to the nearest town of Aspatria with bus and train links. The nearest bus stop is 20 minutes walk away( 1mile) However, I can offer a bicycle for people to use and an occasional lift when needed. :)

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

The view from my home...
a recent walk near Keswick
A view of my place from the right hand side. My house is the first house here.
my cottage is one of four and is on the right hand side of this picture

Host ref number: 659932149165