We want to be self sufficient and enrich our soil and life in Puentedura, Spain

Country

Spain

Favourited 119 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    6  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    02/10/2021

  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    684

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 4 days

  • Badges

    Good Host
    Facebook verified
 
  2021 

 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Hello everybody!
    We are Martín and Karen and we started this project 12 years ago.
    This is our home, not only our business. You will be helping us with only in our private home, garden, vegetable garden and farm.
    We speak English and Spanish. I'm a Philologist so if you have any doubts on Spanish language I'll try to solve them.
    We share the kitchen tasks when there are no clients (cooking, washing up, cleaning the kitchen, etc for the four of us and the volunteers). We don't prearrange a day or take turns following a chart. Whoever is free to cook by 13h, cooks. We agree it every morning. We've had some volunteers that enjoy cooking so they cook some days and wash up others. Some others prefer to wash the dishes or help with the cooking, cleaning and setting. It's up to you.
    When the clients (guests) come which is only during the weekend, it's time for us to work in the hotel, clean rooms, help in the kitchen, serve meals. And our volunteers are free to go sightseeing. We have beautiful surroundings. So, during the week you have two days off and the others you help with the gardening, farming and vegetable garden.
    You will be sleeping in one of the hotel rooms. During the weekend you may need to move to a Caravan (only if the hotel is full).
    Hoping to see you soon,
    Best wishes,
    Karen and Martín

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Help with Eco Projects
    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Animal Care
    Farmstay help
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    If you want, you can practice Spanish with us and you can also learn all the details of our project (bioclimatic construction, green roof, geothermical energy, organic farming, alternative treatments to heal yourself like the use of medicinal plants, mms/cds...

  • Help

    Help

    I hope you can organize your trip and come to visit us.
    The tasks you'll be doing are home and farm related tasks, such as cooking, washing up, gardening, farming and construction. Depending on the month of the year, there's more task of one or the other. During the winter, we usually do construction and maintainance jobs (working with wood) because we are closed and there are no clients, so we can use the outdoor dinning room for tainting woods, and we also do a bit of gardening during the week. Spring is for the vegetable garden and gardening. Summer is a crazy time and a lot of people around here, we do everything and volunteers do their 5 hours a day-5 days a week and the rest of the time they go to the village nearby, to bathe in the river, talk to the villagers, go for a walk of rest. Autumn is the harvest season and we have kitchen work to do. The animals don't give us much work but it's all year long.
    Gardening means working with the hoe, spade and the wheelbarrow, moving stones, cleaning weeds, etc. Construction involves sanding and tinting boards, making adobe, building an organic house with recycled materials.
    You'll be helping 5h/day-5days a week. We work 8-10 hours a day. Well, we don't see it as a job. We actually feel we are working only during the weekend when the guests come. During the week we just do things that need to be done.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    Spanish: Fluent

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Hotel room or Caravan

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We have beautiful sorroundings and many things for you to see and many hikes around. You can just walk out of Sabinares and go for a nice walk by the river. Only 4 km from here we have a small and fairy tale like defile. Seven km away we have Covarrubias, a medieval town really well conserved and on the other direction, "Territoria Artlanza", built by a ceramist-sculptor, a place worth visiting.
    We always try to find the time to show you a bit around but depending on the season we might not have the time.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    You are welcome to come but we cannot guarantee a fast and always ready wi-fi. Sometimes it's slow and if the day is cloudy with lightnings or storm, the wi-fi is not good.

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    This host can provide space for campervans.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 5 hours a day, 5 days a week

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)






Host ref number: 657522822627