Family Farmstay in Stockholm Archipelago , Sweden

Country

Sweden

new host  

Favourited 18 times


  • rating

    Host rating

    Not yet rated
  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    09/12/2019

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 2 days

 
Join now to contact this host
  2019 

 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Do you want to spend the spring, summer and/or fall of 2020 in Stockholm's beautiful archipelago? Then look no further! ;-)

    ABOUT US
    We are a family of four with multiple furry companions. It's me, my husband and our two children, 7 and 5 years old, our big but sweet dog and our two mischievous cats. On the farm there's also goats, rabbits and several types of poultry, such as chickens, quails, turkeys and guinea fowls, and last, but not least, bees.

    OUR VISION
    Two years ago, we bought a neglected farm on an island in Stockholm archipelago with the aim to make it our livelihood. We want to build a small-scale permaculture inspired organic farm, where our vision is to live a sustainable lifestyle with less stress and more quality of life.

    OUR PLANS
    To be able to live off the farm we want to start a farm store for the farm’s products, both from the animals, the gardens and the orchard. The farm store would preferably have a kitchen for taking care of the different produce of the farm, such as dairy products from the goats’ milk, jams from the berries, apple cider from the apples and of course the honey from the bees, to name a few. We also want to be able to build a stone oven, so we can bake sourdough breads and pizzas/tarté flambées.

    OUR FOCUS
    Our focus right now is to give the farm a ton of TLC in order to bring it back to its old glory. After almost 40 years of no maintenance, there's a few things that needs done, to say the least. And it’s turned out to be a greater undertaking than we expected. So, we desperately and gratefully need all the help we can get! All the buildings need some major caretaking in order to make them functional again. We are also planning on installing solar panels for our energy needs and want to build an system for our water supply, including saving rainwater.

    WHAT WE ARE LOOKING FOR
    Do you have a keen interest in sustainable living? Do you want to play an important part in our journey? We are here to give you the best of Sweden in exchange for your time and effort!

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    Babysitting / child care
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Farmstay
    Other
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Help with Computers / internet

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We have a bilingual household, where both Swedish and English is spoken. We welcome all nationalities for mutual cultural and language exchanges. Both my husband and I have travelled a lot, though never through Workaway. We have now landed on our plot of land, which we want to be able to share with others. We are here to share our way of life and how we do things and likewise hope to be able to learn a lot from you.

    For some meals the preparing, cooking and cleaning up will be shared, but we will also provide a stocked fridge and pantry and hopefully a full garden. Most dietary requirements can be fulfilled with proper notice and planning.

    We enjoy being outdoors, cooking and eating and entertaining friends and family.

  • Help

    Help

    We need help with everything on the farm!

    Clearing and cleaning of the buildings. Renovating the buildings. Clearing of the woods, beam making from logs and wood chopping. Painting, both indoors and outdoors. Gardening - sowing, weeding, harvesting. Pruning the old fruit trees and planting new ones. Clearing and repairing paths. Preparing of planting areas. Caretaking of the animals - feeding, cleaning, petting. Caretaking of the children - play games, prepare snacks, go swimming, go fishing, read books. Build tiny houses, fences and porches. Set up a recyclable station. Beekeeping - hive inspections and honey harvesting. General cleaning of debris on the premises left by previous owners/generations. You name it!

    Let us know what you are good at and will do our best to put your skills to good use! :-)

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    Swedish, English, very basic German and Spanish

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Accommodation will be provided in one of the cottages, which has two bedrooms. There's one bedroom with a double bed, suitable for a couple. And there is one bedroom with three single beds, so depending on the number of people staying with us, the bedroom might be shared. We can accommodate families with children. If needed there is also one bedroom in the main house with bunk beds. We will provide bedding and towels.

    There is currently no running water in the cottage and thus, no functioning kitchen or bathroom. Basic cooking can still be done in the kitchen, which has a fridge, a small stove and all kitchen utensils needed. There is an outhouse close to the cottage for toilet visits "after hours", but daytime the bathroom and the bigger kitchen in the main house is available for use. The sea is just a few minutes’ walk away for bathing on warm days.

    For an even more basic experience, we also have tents that can be set up with a 180-degree sea view off the cliffs along our shoreline. Bring your own sleeping bag for this option!

    One of the first tasks will be to clear out and renovate the cottage, making it more functional and cozier.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    During the high season the ferries run on a daily basis, but there's also possibilities of hitching a ride with either myself and my husband as we both also work outside of the farm.

    The area we live in has a lot to see and do. On your time off you can go island hopping, visit Stockholm or Uppsala with all their tourist attractions or for a night out.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 5 hours a day, 5 days a week, but flexible for more days off.

Host ref number: 657442751835