Help needed in house and garden in a typical Tuscan Rustico in Northern Italy

  • Favourited 121 times
  • Last activity: 19 Jun 2024

Availability

  2024 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D

Details

  • Description

    Description

    My name is Anna, I am Swiss, was a translator, then a painter, then a sculptor. Living since 12 years in Italy, after 18 years in South Africa. I speak German, English, French and Italian. I want to concentrate on the garden now and my studies, therefore some help, passion for nature and knowledge are welcome. Living in big cities I chose consciously to withdraw into nature and live a simple healthy quality life, where I take care of myself and my garden in a holistic way. Beauty, care, order, true communication and respect are dear values to me.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Language practice
    Gardening
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We are not far away from Pisa, Lucca, Florence if you are into culture.
    Hiking possibilities (Apuani mountains and 5 Terre)
    Pietrasanta is a lovely art town with many restaurants, shops and cafés. and only15 minutes (by car) away. There is a train station in Pietrasanta.

    For swimming, you have the sea (15 minutes by car) or the river pools down the road (walking distance).

    You can practice your English, French or German.

    Besides, I love gardening and growing some of my own food, music, yoga, Chi Gong and metaphysical and philosophical matters, quantum physics, dance, photography, hiking and swimming and of course, interesting discussions and exchange.

  • Help

    Help

    I would need help with:

    - Cutting grass with weed eater
    - Cutting small trees, stacking wood
    - Weeding, composting, cleaning flower beds etc
    - Sanding and revarnishing of window shutters
    - Preparing veggie garden & planting
    - Cooking
    - Cleaning windows
    - Helping with demolishing shack

    Sometimes we will work together, sometimes you will work on your own. There is also the possibility to look after my place on your own when I am leaving for a few days. So feeling at ease living alone in the house (there are neighbours though)

  • Languages spoken

    German: Fluent
    English: Fluent
    French: Fluent
    Italian: Intermediate

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    I lam living on my own in a typical Tuscan Rustico up in valley surrounded by marble mountains in the MIDDLE OF A CHESTNUT FOREST away from the crowds (I do have very nice Italian neighbours that are very helpful).

    There is no bus connection where I live , so if you want to get around in your free time, it would be good to have your own car (next village is 3/4 of an hour's walk). But I will pick you up at the station when you arrive.

    Since I am vegetarian and try to live a simple conscious but quality lifestyle, the food will be mainly organic and vegetarian. I love cooking, having a good meal, a glass of wine and a good discussion. But if you feel inspired to cook, you are welcome. Two meals offered per day, LUNCH AND DINNER.

    You will be given a beautiful spacious room on the first floor, where we will share the bathroom. There is also an outside shower if you like cold showers like me. No heating though, I heat only with a wooden stove downstairs in the kitchen.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Best for you would be to have a car, so you stay independent and can get out and explore, since there are no bus connections up where I live.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    One

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 653152637974

Feedback (3)



Photos

Feedback

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)





Experience the authentic Italian lifestyle at a farmhouse stay in Reggio Emilia, Italy
Help for lemon and olive harvest, plus home and garden maintenance in Sicily, near the beach, Italy