Family life, South Vendee, France

Country

France

Favourited 614 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    32  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    05/09/2021

  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    213

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    94.1 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 5 days

  • Badges

    Top Host
    Facebook verified
 
  2021 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Updated July 1st.


    We are looking for help from now. Housework, garden tidying, dog walking, meal prep, clearing up, someone who is happy to go with the flow, doesn't need instructions and loves a bit of noise and chaos! We have up to 6 children under 10 in and out over the summer. If you feel this describes you and you've not been 'vacvinated' please come and join this really happy house.
    PS Beach is just a 3 minute walk away... With sand and surf!

    We are unable at this time to host anyone who has received any current 'vaccine'.
    So, if you have had a vaccine, this is not the place for you.


    We have the following jobs....
    Bike service, cleaning and repair. There are 6 bikes to do!!
    General maintenance. Gutters, cleaning, hedges.
    Children. Helping with, hoovering, preparing vegetables, cooking maybe baking.
    We have a garage the needs tidying and sorting.



    If know how to cut a hedge, use a power washer, lay paving slabs, have basic carpentry skills, know how to clean and love dogs and children too then we would like to see you. If you come as a couple then even better :-) We may be able to welcome a family. Please ask.

    We have a lot of requests....thank you. If you do contact us, and we accept your request could you please get back to us with confirmation as soon as possible please. We do try to answer email everyday but often fail. Please be patient, we will be in contact.

    We live à short walk from the beach. Our home is recently built so this is not a renovation project. We are looking for a friendly couple or sole traveller to give us an extra pair of hands with help around the house, in the garden, which is mostly gravel, light maintenance and the house.......cleaning, organising, children help.....sandcastles, sea swimming supervising, picnic making.

    During the Summer months we have a busy family life with grandchildren and children popping in and out. We have two dogs one Mabel, has "special needs" ;-) and four year old Betty a Dachshund crossed with fox terrier a Foxie Doxie!! who lurves playing ...all day if she could !!
    We really need people who are self motivated, open to going with the flow and stepping in and helping out with anything and everything.
    There is the constant demand of tidying up. vacuuming up sand ! washing, ironing and everything else you could help with. In return for 3-5 hours a day we are offering a room, breakfast (cereal and milk) lunch and the opportunity to do it yourself tea/supper (I am happy to provide pasta or rice but if you want another meal of meat or fish or anything else then you will need to provide it for yourself). The local supermarket is just a 10 minute bike ride.
    We are open, friendly and easy going. We eat outside whenever the weather permits and often have a full table!
    We don't smoke anymore but we accept some people still do, so that is OK with us as long as you smoke outside the home.
    There is so much to do here during the summer season. Wake boarding, sailing. kite surfing and surf schools are scattered along the beaches. Out of season most things close leaving the beaches for the surfers and migrating birds.
    Just a 10 minute drive there is the latest attraction the Water park (Parc O'glisse) and a further 10 kms on there is the Indian Forest. Zip wires, assault courses, tree top walks, water adventures and so much more. A great day out.
    There is a go kart track and miles and miles and miles of cycle routes and we have a bike you could borrow. Local Markets and many bistros, cafes and ice cream parlors galore.
    You could get the ferry across to the Ile de Re or visit Fort Boyard (during the Summer season) or just sit and chill on the beach.
    The Winter is a little different. Migrating birds arrive to over winter and the town packs up and for the most part shuts down. So there isn't a lot happening but if you enjoy solitude and long walks on the beach bird watching this could be a good spot! Surfing with the appropriate wet suit is of course possible! Our lives are a little calmer too so lots of help doing sorting, cleaning and tidying will be very welcome.
    If you want to learn French then our Grandchildren will be happy to help or if you want to learn English they can help too!
    Please check out our feedback.
    We look forward to meeting you.
    Debbie and Ian

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    Animal Care
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We are English living in France. We've been here over 20 years and have French and English friends. We can offer a glimpse into French life. We do not run a business so you'll help will be used to help our family.

  • Help

    Help

    We need someone to help with a variety of tasks like cleaning gutters, interior painting, DIY, gardening, which is all gravel and a hedge, no lawns! Also with cleaning tasks like hoovering, washing floors, changing beds, laundry.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    French: Fluent

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Own bedroom, may be bunk beds or a double depending on what is going on.. Meal usually at lunchtime. Access to kitchen for other meals. You need to clean up after yourself, that includes washing up and putting away!! We are more than happy to support any food allergies but if you are following a specific regime or protocol then you will need to provide and cook what that entails for yourself. We hope you understand.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Walking distance from La Tranche sur Mer, 40kms from La Rochelle and Les Sables d'Olonne. 1 hour from Nantes.
    300 metres from sandy beaches. Local free bus during July and August and plenty of attractions in the town centre. We do have a car you could borrow if you have a driving licence and are over 25. We also have a bicycle that you can use.
    We are happy to collect you from the train or bus station.
    Nearest airports. La Rochelle. Nantes.
    At Nantes there is a shuttle bus to the train station.
    Train stations. Lucon. La Roche sur yon. La Rochelle. Les Sables d'Olonnes.
    Bus. Flexibus. La Roche sur Yon.
    There is little public transport so blabla car is a good option.

    Parc O'glisse
    Indian Forest
    Go Karts
    Wake boarding
    Kite surfing
    Paddle board
    Wind surfing
    Surfing.
    Skate park
    Forest with outdoor fitness equipment.
    Cycle tracks.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    This host has indicated that they love having digital nomads stay.

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    There is parking outside the house. Situated in a no through road.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    3-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)























Host ref number: 652576993911