Help us in the garden and house near Wittmund, Lower Saxony, Germany

Country

Germany

Favourited 38 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    6  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    25/11/2020

  • Badges

    Good Host
 
  2021 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    * Do not hesitate to contact us for other periods of time. *

    Hello workawayers!

    We are Melina and Jörg living in northern Germany around 12 km from the North Sea. Together with Jörgs mother we own a house in the countryside. Moreover Jörgs twelve-year-old daughter is here to visit her dad regularly.
    We have some chicken, ducks and budgerigars as well as a big garden.

    The next small town with shopping possibilities, train station, etc. is not far from here and can be reached by bike in less than ten minutes.

    We both have office jobs whereas we like to work in our garden and the house in our freetime. We grow vegetables, herbs and fruits and try to create a cosy home for us and our (soon-to-be) animals. Upcycling is a big talking point here! We do not like standard renovating which undisputed leads to longer working periods. But ... good things come to those who wait! ;)

    Apart from our normal jobs we work or volunteer on different music festivals in Germany and Sweden a few times a year. So we absolutely love music! Our home contains two pianos, a guitar, a ukulele, a child drum kit, a didgeridoo, etc. But unfortunately we are no professionals in at least one of them. :D

    Both of us speak German as our mother tongue, proper English and we are learning Swedish. Melina also speaks a bit French.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Animal Care
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We are searching for people who are not afraid of sharing the rooms and especially the daily life (very important!!!) with us. You should have an open mind on being a part of our family.
    We do not like to host people who would just like to spend time on their own.

    In case you like to cook or bake we absolutely like to have a taste of your traditional dishes.

    Improving your German skills will be no problem as we gladly would like to help you. On the other hand we are also very interested in catching some new words in your language and in learning something about your culture.

  • Help

    Help

    Primary you can help us in the garden and with our animals (watering the plants, lawn mowing, feeding animals, cleaning stables/cages, planting, harvesting and conserving crops and herbs, pulling up weeds, etc.) as well as in the house. (cooking, cleaning, clearing out stuff etc.)

    Furthermore, we welcome help with various projects (greenhouse, raised beds, furniture, painting, loft conversion etc.) and repairs inside and outside.

    We welcome people who like to be in a team but are also willing to manage tasks on their own and can take care of the animals, garden and house when we are working on a festival for a few days or on any other trip. But don't be afraid - you will never be all alone!

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    German: Fluent
    English: Fluent
    Sami: Beginner
    Swedish: Beginner

    This host offers a language exchange
    This host has indicated that they are interested in sharing their own language or learning a new language.
    You can contact them directly for more information.

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    We offer our living room for you to sleep in. You can use our two-person sofa bed. (There is also a living room suite, so no one will have to use your bed during your stay.)

    Sometimes it is also possible to offer a bed in the children's room.

    Bath room, guest toilet, kitchen, dining room and our bar will be shared - also of course our big garden with the garden shed.

    As we are still renovating the rooms bit by bit (and almost only in wintertime when there is less to do outside) you will not find the most modern environment everywhere.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Usually we can only offer a double bed/sofa. So we are searching for a single person, a couple or a mother/father with child.

    Sometimes it is also possible to offer a bed in the children's room.

    Usually we cook fresh, sugar-free, gluten-free and often vegetarian. But you will also find fish and meat on our menu.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    This host has indicated that they love having digital nomads stay.

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    This host can provide space for campervans.

  • Can possibly accept pets

    Can possibly accept pets

    This host has said they are willing to accept those travelling with a pet.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (4.5)







Host ref number: 652227365587