Experience the Joys of Simple Rural Life in Vermont

Country

United States

Favourited 470 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    20  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    28/09/2019

  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    597

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    94.1 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 5 days

  • Badges

    Top Host
    Facebook verified
Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are a gay couple living in rural Vermont on 107 acres (43 hectares) with three ponds.

    We are a non-profit and care, primarily, for rescued farm animals. (our flock of birds are not rescues).

    🎯 SEND US YOUR ✉️ EMAIL ADDRESS and we will send you an APPLICATION (required for everyone) plus more details on life here in Vermont.

    ▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬

    We have a large aviary with rare and exotic chickens (including a Salmon Faverolle Rooster, Golden Pencil Hamburgs, a White-crested Black Polish, Brown breasted Red (BBR) Standard Old Englishs, Sicilian Buttercups, Dark Brahmas, and Golden-laced Polish). Rhode Island Reds are our egg producers.

    Assorted Guinea Fowl and five Peacocks round out our flock.

    We also have a number of rabbits. (I can't tell you the exact number as they are increasing every day - ツ).

    Four sheep, four alpacas, two Sicilian donkeys, two potbellied pigs and three dogs (two of which are puppies) comprise the current mammals on our farm.

    In January 2018 we re-started an aquarium with two Oscars.

    ▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬

    ★ WHAT TYPE OF WORK YOU CAN EXPECT ★

    In a word: HARD. You will discover muscles you didn't even know you had!

    In 2016, workawayers helped us paint most of the exterior of our house, but there is more to do, including second coats on outbuildings.

    In 2017, workawayers helped us create a one-of-a-kind 20-foot glass wall made from reclaimed old windows (in fact, each person signed a window to remember their efforts in this unique construction effort). The 4-season re-imagined porch is so incredible that we are now converting our back porch in the same way in 2019. When you SEND US YOUR ✉️ EMAIL ADDRESS we will send you a link to step-by-step photos of the glass wall built by the workawayers in 2017 in addition to the required application and much much more!

    In 2018, workawayers helped us move (by hand) over 5000 pounds (2300 kilograms) of rock and stone and cement along the fence line to secure it.

    Plans for the future include finalizing fencing for our pasture area, solidifying our Good King Henry plot, blackberry patch, asparagus, and strawberry pyramids!

    ▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬

    If you are ⚢ ⚣ gay or gay-friendly and are looking to get some skills in rural living -- or just want to experience a simpler earth-friendly lifestyle -- we invite you to join us for two weeks or more.

    🎯 Remember to SEND US YOUR ✉️ EMAIL ADDRESS in order to get the process rolling. Just messaging us and asking when you can come won't work (and reflects badly on you because it shows us you haven't read this profile thoroughly).

    ▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬

    ★ A LITTLE BIT ABOUT US ★

    Scott is a recovering vegetarian (since 2015) and outdoor person who moved to Vermont from Florida in the 1980s. He solo-hiked the Appalachian Trail when he was in his 20s and that led to a career as an Outward Bound instructor. He currently works as a life coach out of our home with clients all over the world. He is an experienced Vipassana meditator (there is a Vipassana Meditation Center a few hours from our home) and he typically does two 10-day silent Vipassana courses each year. He volunteers with our local community as an EMT and Firefighter. In 2014, Scott started running marathons and in 2015, he hiked the GR20 in Corsica (reportedly the "toughest hiking trail in Europe"). Scott is a published author and has so far written eight books, one of which is a book for workaway hosts that helps them to create a system that is fair, accountable, clear and easy-to-manage for work exchangers.

    Brian has always been a carnivore and is a 6th generation Vermonter. He owns and runs a restaurant and bar complex a few hours from our house. He is skilled at operating our farm equipment (tractor, etc) and is the planner/designer of many of our outbuildings. Brian is a smoker but never smokes inside the house. He started running 5Ks with Scott and in 2014 completed his first Tough Mudder. He completed another Tough Mudder with Scott September of 2015 as well as a number of Warrior Dashes.

    In 2017, Brian and Scott took up hang gliding and are currently working on their Hang One Certification.

    ▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬

    ★ THE PROCESS ★

    We have much information to share with you on how we host volunteers. As you can tell from our reviews, we have a clear, articulate system in place for volunteers to craft a great experience.

    This process includes:
    ► an application,
    ► a Skype interview,
    ► a criminal background check, and
    ► a reference check on ALL applicants (including last minute workawayers).

    🎯 We'll tell you more once you CONTACT US WITH YOUR ✉️ EMAIL ADDRESS!
    (We will email you a series of emails with the application, release forms, lots of photos, an eBook about Vermont, a link to our weather station and live weather webcam and more!)

    This process is the same for last minute workawayers. We require an application, skype interview, criminal background check and reference check on everyone.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    General Maintenance
    Farmstay
    Other
    Animal care
    Charity work

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    You will learn a lot by doing a help exchange with us.

    You'll experience directly what life is like in rural America while building some hard skills in farming/building/animal care and more!

    If you don't know how to cook, you will know how to do that -- you will even know how to bake bread -- by the time your exchange with us is over!

    The Connecticut River is close by for boating as is the premier location in New England for hang gliding.

    And finally, if you join us on any of our hikes or canoe trips, you will build some good outdoor skills.

    ▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬

    To help you plan, here are some dates and activities you might be interested in (You can Google to get more specifics on hikes, etc):

    ★ 2018 DATES ★

    ✔️ Other Fun Things:

    • December 8 & 9 2018, Tandy's Pub Christmas Show (Musical Singing Performance)

    ★ 2019 DATES ★

    ✔️ Hang Gliding:

    • One day each week during the Summer months, weather permitting.

    ✔️ Runs and Races:

    • August, Warrior Dash

    ✔️ Hikes:

    • June, Single Day Presidential Traverse
    • September-October 2019, Scott does another 272-mile end-to-end hike of the Long Trail with Rocket and Groot (yes it is his second)

    ✔️ Canoeing with our dogs, Groot & Rocket:

    • June 1, on the Connecticut River, 10-mile paddle
    • July 6, on the Connecticut River, 4-hour leisurely float trip
    • August 3, on the Clyde River, 12-mile paddle

    ✔️ Farm Activities:

    • April, Sheep Shearing
    • April, Ornamental Layers (chicks) Arrive
    • June, Peafowl and Guinea Fowl (chicks) Arrive
    • July, Alpaca Shearing

    ✔️ Other Fun Things:

    • June 20 -22 2019, Concord Market Days and Singing Competition
    • July 24-July 28 2019, North Haverhill Fair

  • Help

    Help

    Depending on when you stay with us, you can expect to be involved with any of the following (or similar activities):

    ✔️ caring and feeding of farm animals
    ✔️ shoveling and composting LOTS of manure
    🏠 painting the exterior of the house
    🔨 constructing an 8 x 64 wood pole shed
    🔨 building additions to existing outbuilding
    ✔️ cutting, splitting and stacking 32 cords of firewood
    ✔️ expanding electrical fencing (digging and installing fence posts)
    🏠 interior painting
    ✔️ gardening and other help with plants, grass, weeding, etc.
    ✔️ helping out on big events at our restaurant/bar

    ✏️ No pets are allowed. There are too many variables with animals already living on our farm so we cannot accommodate volunteers with pets.

    ✏️ Minimum age: 18.

    ✏️ Minimum stay: 2 weeks. The nature of help requires a significant level of training and supervision to help someone learn the skills. The remote location makes transportation logistics difficult. Because of these two factors, we require a commitment of two weeks.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English, French

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Your accommodations are in our HUGE log home. We have one room and a loft area for guests / friends / family : (1) a 100 square foot (9 square meter) room with two twin-sized beds, and (2) a 65 square foot (6 square meter) open loft area that overlooks the main living space with a pull-out bed (twin size). We have another room (200 square feet) with a queen size bed. This room is available when it is not being rented out to travelers and vacationers looking for a rural farm experience.

    We share the rest of the space!

    In the summer, you can sleep in one of our tents or just out under the stars if you wish (we have plenty of outdoor gear, sleeping bags, etc).

    If we have lots of people staying with us, you may share a room. We have cots for extra guests.

    We have all bedding (sheets, blankets, pillows, pillowcases), towels and even soap and shampoo!

    We also have two bathrooms in the house for sharing and a laundry which you are welcome to use too! (No need to bring your own laundry supplies).

    ▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬

    ✆ There is no cell phone service.

    🚬Smokers are OK -- you simply need to smoke outside the house.

    🐶 Pets are not OK. (There are too many animals here on the farm and interactions with new animals can be unpredictable).

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    The Upper Valley, a landscape of powerful beauty, offers a wide range of year-round outdoor recreational activities as well as diverse social, cultural, and artistic communities. Situated near the Appalachian Trail, the area is renowned for its premier skiing, hiking, canoeing, and kayaking.

    The Shelburne Falls Vipassana Meditation Center is a couple of hours from here. If you can fit a 10-day meditation into your visit you won't regret it.

    ٩(͡๏̯͡๏)۶ This area is extremely rural. There is no public transportation. ٩(͡๏̯͡๏)۶

    We have limited television.

    ٩(͡๏̯͡๏)۶Internet is limited. You can SOMETIMES stream Netflix and other services. ٩(͡๏̯͡๏)۶

    We suggest that volunteers plan on bringing:
    ❑ sturdy boots (especially if you want to go hiking)
    ❑ leather gloves
    ❑ rubber boots that you can put on when working with the animals (you don't want your nice shoes covered with poop)
    ❑ junky work clothes (including rain gear) that you won't mind getting covered with paint, poop and mud.

    ★ Bring a book to read. Don't expect to spend time online. Access to the Internet is limited.

    We will send interested workawayers detailed information via email including the eBook, "The Adventure Guide to Vermont", details about us, the work and photos of sleeping quarters.

    🎯 Just be sure to SEND US YOUR EMAIL ADDRESS WHEN YOU CONTACT US.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    5 hours per day (max 25 hours)


















Host ref number: 652137741728