Experience simple and close to nature living at this small Eco Farm in southern Spain

Country

Spain

Favourited 623 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    12  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    29/08/2020

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    55.6 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 6 days

  • Badges

    Top Host
 
  2020 

 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    This small farm is tucked away between typical Andalucian orange orchards and the nearby hills covered with olive trees. It is next to the Rio Grande. The river flows well from autumn through to spring but in summer it is very shallow, in spite of its name.

    With the help of friends and just one or two volunteers at a time, I am in the early stages of developing the land close to the river into a more productive organic fruit orchard. There is also a small vegetable garden.

    Volunteers come for a few months of the year to help with caring for the trees, clearing and digging around them, mulching and watering. You may also be asked to help with digging and planting in the vegetable garden. English is our common language.

    On the land there is a small house which is being repaired and rebuilt. There is space for tents, and a yurt. It is in a peaceful and quiet rural location. The nearest town or village is a 10 km walk away ........ In other words, this is the perfect place to get back to nature, get away from it all and to experience a more simple way of living.

    I eat a plant only based diet (vegan diet) and almost all the food I have is raw. I invite you to share this way of eating and in learning about raw food preparation. Or if you prefer you can prepare your own cooked food.

    Please note that in respect for the land and for the other people who come to share this beautiful place I do not accept smokers, the drinking of alcohol or the use of recreational drugs including cannabis.

    The minimum length of time to stay here is for 2 weeks and usually it will be fine for you to stay for 3-4 weeks or sometimes longer. This is so I get the chance to get to know you, and you also have a good opportunity to learn how things work here and so that you can fully appreciate the benefits of living a more simple, off grid and nature based lifestyle.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    General Maintenance
    Farmstay help
    Help with Eco Projects
    Help around the house
    Animal Care
    Language practice
    Help with Computers/ Internet

  • UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    This is a chance to learn about and experience simple off grid living and share time with one or maybe two others who appreciate the beauty and tranquility of being in nature. You can also learn about preparing natural plant based food. It is also an opportunity to learn from others about different cultures, interests and experiences.

    Work experience varies and it most often includes work in the garden. We are also some times in the year doing small building projects. Your skills in natural and sustainable building and construction would be especially appreciated.

  • Help

    Help

    I am looking for helpers with experience in ecological ways of building and construction and who prefer to use materials that are sustainable, such as straw bales, earth building, hemp or adobe. I am also looking for someone who knows how to do stone step building.

    While the house is being rebuilt I am only able to offer tent accomodation. Food for breakfast, lunch and evening meal is provided. If you are already eating an all raw food diet and wish to continue, then please let me know, as some of the foods that you are used to having may not be available locally. You are welcome to ask any questions you may have.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    Spanish: Beginner

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    The house here is in the process of being rebuilt and so only tent accomodation is available at the moment. Bedding and pillows are provided.

    Most volunteers wash or bathe in the river or if you prefer you can have a bowl of warm water in the temporary shower room or take a bag shower, in or outdoors. The toilet here is a separation system dry compost toilet.

    There is no washing machine, refridgerator or mains tap water. All water has to be collected, carried or pumped. You can wash your own laundry in the river most of the year or in a bowl of collected water.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    The nearest airport is Malaga which is just 50 km away. You can easily get a train or bus from the airport to the Maria Zambrano central bus/train station in the middle of the city and then from there take the bus to Coín. Volunteers are usually picked up by car from Coín or you can take a taxi.

    The beaches of the Costa del Sol and the natural park areas of the Sierra de Las Nieves are about 1 hour away by car. The cities of Granada, Seville and Cordoba are also not too far to reach by public transport or car.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Usually 5 hours per day, 5 days a week











Host ref number: 651715691954