Help with our garden and animals for self-sufficiency in Metchosin, BC, Canada

  • Favourited 101 times
  • Last activity: 11 Apr 2024

Availability

  2024 

 Min stay requested: 1 month or more

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D

Details

  • Description

    Description

    HI!


    We need workaway volunteers with an up to date clear Criminal Records Check. The CRC you used to enter Canada is perfect. I need a screenshot please. Thank you for your understanding. 💜

    My family of 2 boys, a son and his wife, and a young lady and I live on a lovely farm in Metchosin. We have a large garden, fruit and nut trees, chickens for eggs, cows for milk and pigs for pork. We use the meat from our cows and pigs, milk from our cows, eggs from our chickens and produce from our garden and orchard in our home.
    We have hosted people from all over the world and we love the diversity of language and cultures. I'm an experienced host with over 11 years of opening my home to others.

    I work on site as the main care provider for the owner of the property- a young lady with Downs Syndrome. There could be possible opportunity for additional paid respite work. Some supervision and light meal prep is all that is needed here. No personal care.

    We prefer long stays due to the nature of the help, but email me with your availability. Preference given to those willing to commit to 1 or more months.

    We are surrounded by nature and it's a great place to live if you like that! Beaches and parks within walking distance, bikes and trails close to the house. Bus stop is a short walk away.

    Fall and winter tasks include feeding/ watering animals, milking the cow, building fences, veterinary care of our animals, and help with harvesting and preserving produce. Construction and building skills are a bonus, if you have them! There are always things to do on the farm. Spring and summer also include planning, planting, weeding and harvesting our garden produce.
    We enjoy spending time with our farm helpers and doing fun things too!

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Elderly Companionship
    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Animal Care
    Farmstay help
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Learning lots of farm husbandry and care of animals. Care and maintenance of milking cows, how to use fresh milk to make cheese and yogurt and other things to enjoy.
    Experience with pigs and chickens and seasonally, preserving different types of foods.
    English practice
    Fun with our crazy family!

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Help

    Help

    I shared above- it's farm help.

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    English: Fluent

    This host offers a language exchange
    Mainly interested in learning French and German.

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Your own bedroom and shared facilities. I posted a photo of your room so you can see where you'll stay. I also have a camper on the property that my workawayers are welcome to stay in.
    High-speed WiFi is provided, of course.
    Cable TV and streaming services in the main area of the house when you need some downtime.
    Food is readily available, and we encourage a sit-down main meal with the family. Most people are independent with breakfast and lunch, but sometimes we do a huge brunch style breakfast as well on the weekends with the kids.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Beaches, lake, nature hikes, bus into town for many activities, lots of tourist activities in and around Victoria.
    So many things to see and do in the area it's impossible to list them all.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    I have excellent internet and lots of room on the wifi connection. There will be time for this.

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    I have a small flat area to park in the back yard. You'd have to be able to deal with your own grey and black water. I can provide electrical.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    25 hrs/week

Host ref number: 649378892699

Feedback (5)



Feedback

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (4.8)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)








A beautiful home with a fun Indigenous host in Salmon Arm, BC, Canada
Help us around our family farm and discover Canadian culture in Beautiful Nakusp, Canada