Help me to rehabilitate a beautiful piece of hilly land in Combermere, Ontario, Canada

  • Canada
  • Favourited 6 times
  • Last activity: 14/08/2022

Availability

  2023 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D

Details

  • Description

    Description

    Hi, I'm Lisa. I grew up in the country, and have finally made my return!
    This past year, I travelled to Nicaragua and volunteered on a workaway to have the experience from the other side of it so that I could provide the best experiences for my visitors.
    I have travelled through most of Europe and Asia much of Central America and the Caribbean so meeting new people is very interesting to me and I have a great respect for different cultures.
    I live a pretty simple lifestyle, I had a bad accident a few years ago and that is when I decided to move to the country and live a quiet life after 25 years in Toronto.
    The property is at the point of major transformation, and watching the progress is one of the most rewarding parts. We have done most of the work ourselves so if this kind of project appeals I can show you everything that I've learned so far!

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Help with Eco Projects
    Animal Care
    Farmstay help
    General Maintenance
  • UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    You can see how a Canadian farm works - especially one that is on the Canadian shield - which is challenging farm land or simply have a real experience working on a working/semi-working farm. i am always happy to do a language exchange as well as share some of the indiginenous culture of the area.

  • Help

    Help

    in 2018 I purchased an old abandoned farm on a beautiful piece of hilly land that I have been rehabilitating for the past three summers. It is almost ready for animals, and I take campers and guests in my house. There is quite a lot of work to do between preparing wood bags for campers, cleaning sites, clearing trails, mending fences, weeding the garden ... all honest work!

    I have a kayak and a canoe that is docked just up the road so you can paddle in your free time. If I have horses by the time you arrive, you will be able to spend time with them, and depending on your ability you may be able to ride.

    It's a beautiful part of the country and I go to the beach or jump in the lake as often as possible when the weather is good... its all about living an honest life of hard work and simple pleasures.

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    English: Fluent
    Spanish: Beginner
    French: Beginner

    This host offers a language exchange
    I'm happy to practice French, Spanish or any other language really... and I will help you with your English

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    There is one small bedroom, as well as a trailer. Depending on how long you will stay and what time of the year you could be staying in either of these spaces.

    Basic food will be provided, there is ample fresh produce in the garden and pasta, rice and other essentials will be available.
    Occasionally I will cook a steak or burgers. I respect your choices if you are a vegetarian or vegan however I do eat some meat and do my best to keep it natural/organic.
    You may be required to do your own cooking, often times we cook over the campfire or bbq in the summer.
    You will be provided with your own bin for any specialty food items that you wish to purchase.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    There is no local transportation, but as I mentioned before I usually go to the beach or the lake regularly. The kayak/canoe is located nearby. The village is 5 km away so an easy bike ride and I usually go into town at least 4 times a week. There is a larger town 20 km away and we will do a larger shopping trip there usually once a week.
    There are lakes, rivers, beaches, hills to hike, and lots of other activities nearby. I also host events like a fire walking ceremony and with campers and visitors an the weekends there are usually opportunities to get out and about.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    I can set you up with a desk space of you work online... I work online so the internet is pretty good.

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    Yes we have space for a camper or your own accommodation no problem!

  • Can possibly accept pets

    Can possibly accept pets

    I have a cat that is afraid of dogs, so yo umust be willing to keep your dog attended, and leashed or on a long tie most of the time.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 649376345452

Feedback (1)

Feedback