Help me revive this amazing ecovillage in the mountains of Les Cevennes, France

  • Favourited 59 times
  • Last activity: 16 Apr 2024

Availability

  2024 

 Min stay requested: No minimum

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D

Details

  • Description

    Description

    In 2021 I started a one year and half travel from France to Vietnam by bicycle! My journey took me to amazing places and amazing people!
    Now that I am back in France, I've decided to start a new life's in my childhood home, located in St Martin de Boubaux, Lozère). My parents renovated this place 30 years ago to make a yoga and meditation retreat center. It's like a little village lost in wilderness with a few small local stones houses and a yurt. For many years, the place has been vacant so now is time to give a second life to this amazing place !

    My project is to renovate some of the houses to have more people come and live in this ecovillage in the aim that one day, I can recreate the retreat center my parents had.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Help with Eco Projects
    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance
  • UN sustainability goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainability goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    The place is surrounded by forests and wilderness, the nearest neighbours are several kilometers away !
    It's a great place to connect with nature and yourself ! Super relaxing with a beautiful view of the valley.

    During my travels, I have been hosted endless times and I want to give back. I love learning about other cultures, sharing stories, food and activities. I am not an expert in construction or gardening but I will be happy to share with you what I have learnt.
    But mainly I will be happy to show you the surrounding and talk about my life's experiences and sharing delicious vegetarian meals.
    Please come to make me travel without moving from my home !

  • Help

    Help

    There is always tons of things to do here. Depend of what you prefer but it can go from the renovation of some rooms to the general maintenance of the place, gardening, building stone walls, cutting woods for winter or for a pizza party !
    Also, every Monday morning, there is a collaboration project in one of the houses of the valley so we will go give a hand ! Good vibes, delicious food and best way to meet the other locals living here.

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    English: Fluent
    French: Fluent
    Spanish: Intermediate
    Italian: Beginner

    This host offers a language exchange
    This host has indicated that they are interested in sharing their own language or learning a new language.
    You can contact them directly for more information.

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    The place is very big so we will easily find a place for you ! Maybe in the yurt ?
    There are so many rooms that you would have your own space.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    There is no public transport system to get to our place. You come by train, the best way is to take the train to La Grand Combe. From there, it is a 30-min ride and we can plan ahead to pick you up as we go to town once a week.

    It is located in the Cevennes, a national park known for being one of the wildest places in France. It is famous for its unspoiled nature, quietness and hikes. From my home, there are many activities possible: hikes, rivers and tiny canyons, bicycle routes and more.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    This host can provide space for campervans.

  • Can possibly accept pets

    Can possibly accept pets

    This host has said they are willing to accept those travelling with a pet.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 648391871615

Feedback (1)


Photos

Feedback