Help us with in our woodland, large gardens and projects in Shropshire, UK

Country

United Kingdom

updated  

Favourited 407 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    43  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    19/10/2019

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    84.5 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 2 days

  • Badges

    Top Host
Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: at least 3 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Our property is situated in the Shropshire hills in an area of outstanding natural beauty and a site of special scientific interest. Just minutes away from historic Ludlow with its medieval castle we have panoramic views over six counties. We welcome couples.

    Our country retreat has the benefit of 45 acres of private woodland, gardens and grounds and is home to an abundance of wildlife, rare plants and flowers.

    We are a family myself (Penny) my daughter Fern, my Mother Janet and our two dogs Dixie & Darcy. My daughter Fern lives close by. We are experienced Hosts and have hosted people from around the world.

    We offer our workaways a double bedroom on the ground floor of the house (for couples). The room is well furnished with a comfortable King size bed with a memory foam mattress. The King size bed can be exchanged for two single beds when necessary to accommodate two single people. There is a large desk with an office chair and double doors and a large picture window looking out onto the gardens and amazing views. You will have the use of a shower room on the ground floor and full use of a large sitting room with a widescreen smart TV. There is wifi in the room. Workaway's have access to all of our outside space which includes many outside seating and dining area's overlooking breathtaking views. You will be given privacy but also have the benefit of being welcomed into an English family.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Help with Computers / internet

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    New skills - we are happy to teach.

  • Help

    Help

    Our grounds are large including gardens, woodland and forest areas. We would appreciate help with gardening and forestry projects. We live in a forest it is important that Workawayers bring water proof boots and coats with them.

    We are looking for a variety of skills to assist us with our projects.

    We have areas of ground to clear as well as carpentry projects such as helping with building decks and repairs to buildings. Someone who can use a chainsaw, strimmer, mower would be useful but not necessary for an application.

    There is often painting and decorating to be done as well as general maintenance in and around our property, gardens and grounds.

    We have two lovely friendly dogs we like that everyone takes a turn in caring for them, taking them on walks, keeping their room clean and feeding them. We also need help with housekeeping, general cleaning and washing in the home.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Two Comfortable rooms in a country house with bathroom facilities. Double bedroom well furnished with a large King size bed on the ground floor or two single beds if appropriate. Second room with two single beds or a single bed with a sofa depending on the number of occupants. Access to large living room with a SMART widescreen TV and WIFI.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Local bus service available within walking distance and train station in the nearest local town. There are a number of things to do around the area from cycling to kayaking, to visiting museums, to looking around castles and country manor houses. Host can provide transport.

    The West Midlands Safari Park in Kidderminster is always a good place to visit and is not far away from one of the best shopping centers in the UK, Birmingham Bullring.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week



























Host ref number: 645982942468