Help with our building project in Tangalle, South East Sri Lanka

Country

Sri Lanka

Favourited 205 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    1  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    10/03/2022

  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    321

  • Badges

    Facebook verified
 
  2022 

 Min stay requested: 1 week or less

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Hello, My name is Christian and I began building this in 2010 after I came with my family to Sri Lanka for a holiday and fell in love with the country. We found a fisherman's cottage on the coast and could see the potential in the location and the possibility of being part of Sri Lanka's growing tourist economy. We built as an extension of the art spaces we used to run in Sussex in the UK and imagined another venture where artists and writers, creatives and families could congregate and create in a tropical paradise location! This is a holiday home with 6 bedrooms and a potential restaurant and bar situated directly overlooking the sea on the southeast coast of Sri Lanka.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Babysitting and creative play
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    General Maintenance
    Help around the house
    Hospitality/Tourism
    Art Projects

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    You will be living and helping in a beautiful location with comfortable rooms, great swimming, surfing and snorkelling. More importantly the tourist trade here is beginning to thrive but we are still very much in the real Sri Lanka where you will be living in the midsts of a real fishing village among the local fishermen and their families. It is a great place to meet guests staying from around the world. You will learn new skills and have the opportunity to showcase and teach us new skills in hospitality and building, creative expression and gardening.

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Help

    Help

    The initial build is almost complete and we are now in the finishing stages with some additions to be made such as making extra bathrooms and erecting gates, decorating and finishing interiors, designing the outside areas by laying concrete, establishing gardens, positioning planters and creating sculptures for the garden. When guests are staying we need to provide cleaning and cooking services and sometimes childcare for ourselves as we have a 5 year old who is sometimes on site. Skills required and appreciated are surfing, scuba diving, snorkelling, cooking, laying concrete, childcare, construction skills, cleaning, artistic input, sculpting, carving, electrics, plumbing, carpentry, housekeeping and painting.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    French: Fluent
    Spanish: Intermediate

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    You will be staying in one of our comfortable en-suite rooms, all have a generous sized double bed with either a sea or a river view.. If all the rooms are booked you may stay in our little cottage level with the ground floor and nearby our purpose built outside kitchen. Food is flexible, we can offer access to the kitchen facilities or you are welcome to contribute to cooking with us. We can also recommend good local restaurants in the nearby town of Tangalle.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We are conveniently situated near the main road into town where you can either catch a bus or hail a Tuk Tuk to reach Tangalle, a 10 minute drive from the Beach. Use of the house scooter may be on offer too. On average we would expect a 5 hour day from you, starting early in the morning which will give you plenty of time to explore the surrounding area. Tangalle has bustling town centre and we are on a lovely small bay with it's own coral reef and waves for surfing. We are a short trip away from the beautiful surfing beach in Hiriketiya, The Women's Lace Centre of Dikwella, Whale Watching in Mirissa and much more!

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week



Host ref number: 645787153832