Active rural lifestyle with children, gardening and building in small village near Bourne, UK

Country

United Kingdom

Favourited 103 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    12  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    22/04/2021

  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    202

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 5 days

  • Badges

    Good Host
    Facebook verified
 
  2021 

 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    If you want to experience rural England, come to Lincolnshire! We are a family of six, with Sam and Joanna, our lovely boys Rhys and Finn (8), and dogs Reggie and Willow. We also have five chickens, lots of apple trees and try to grow a few veggies in the garden. Sam keeps bees, so we always have lots of honey and Joanna loves baking sourdough bread and all kinds of cakes. We live simply, eat home-made food and try to live sustainably. We have links to a local permaculture farm, where Sam keeps the bees, and love learning about how to take better care of the Earth. Sam works for a charity that conserves nature for birds and all wildlife and Joanna works for a medical health charity. Sam's brother and parents live nearby. We place a high value on family life and spending quality time together.

    We love to travel, see new places, and meet people from all over the world. when we can. We would be very pleased to welcome you into our family and share our home with you. We have a fairly big three bedroom house which has been extended a few times by previous owners and still needs a bit of finishing off work. We are doing all the building work ourselves (with help from several lovely workaways) and have managed to overhaul the kitchen, living room, dining room, one of the bathrooms, and the bedrooms. We have a lovely garden, which runs all the way around the house, it is perfect for sitting out in the evening with a glass of wine and good friends. Our next projects are finishing the renovation of the upstairs bathroom and finishing the veranda. We are very relaxed and like to take life slowly! We take regular walks to the woodland, which you can walk to from the front door. We love to go camping and regularly take the camper van and some tents over to the East coast to visit Norfolk as an extended family.

    The house is in a village, so it is relatively quiet here, but there are good links to London from Grantham. We are happy to collect you from the train station in Grantham, with notice. In more normal times, there are regular events at our village hall, including a summer fete, quiz nights, and parties. There is a pub in nearby Rippingale, which is a short bike ride away (we have bikes which can be borrowed), but I am not sure of the current situation. Bourne is just down the road and has all the usual shops, pubs and cafes, there are buses, or we can drop you off with a little notice. Again, I am not sure what is open at the moment.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    The pace of life in this part of the world is slower, so people have time to say hello and welcome visitors. That is why we chose to move here. It is so green and fresh, with birds singing as you wake and bats flitting around at bedtime. You will experience life as part of an aspiring environmentally friendly family. You can learn all about British wildlife and birds and you can take in woodland walks from the doorstep. We have visited many parts of England and can advise you in your travels, and we hope you will stay in touch. We had always lived in shared houses until we had children, so we are keen to have visitors. If you have a child, they can all play in the garden on the trampoline, the swings or in the huge sandpit. We can all go camping together at the weekends, we have plenty of camping stuff. We look forward to meeting you!

  • Help

    Help

    We will need help with keeping the house clean and tidy, general cleaning and also painting, laying tiles, and other general building/decorating duties. When we continue with the veranda, there will be building the walls and laying tiles. The garden needs to be weeded and watered regularly, the dog needs walking and the chickens need to be checked daily. We’d like to build a polytunnel and a pizza oven.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    We can offer you a campervan to stay in on the drive, or space for your own camper. There is a shower room in the house downstairs. You will have access to our living space, living room, dining room, kitchen, etc. We will provide food for cooking family meals together at lunchtime and in the evenings. Sam and I have a plant-based diet and mostly eat whole foods, the children choose to also add cheese, eggs, and occasional fish to their meals. We are happy to accept couples and small families.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Our village is a great little community, there are regular events and lots of friendly people. There are shops, cafes, pubs and restaurants in nearby Bourne and even more in Peterborough and Grantham. There are trains to Nottingham, Skegness, London, York, or Lincoln from local stations and we could do a station drop-off if you would like to visit them. It is pretty quiet in the evenings, so you can relax in the garden, cycle to the pub in Rippingale or visit Bourne for a drink and an excellent curry at a local Indian restaurant. There are lots of great walks and cycle rides to keep you fit. Local landmarks include Bourne Wood (ancient woodland), Temple Wood, Grimsthorpe Castle estate, Woolsthorpe Manor (Sir Isaac Newton's house), Rutland water and Belton House.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    This host can provide space for campervans.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    One

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week










Host ref number: 644124412638