Join us at our riverside mill helping to tame our woodland in Brittany, France

Country

France

Favourited 15 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    2  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    19/09/2020

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 1 day

 
  2020 

 Min stay requested: 1 week or less

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    My partner Andy and I moved to France last September to start a completely new life - we took on an old Mill site that has 14 acres of woodland - it is a fabulous setting but it's a lot of work. Good work though. We have a separate cottage in the grounds that can be used by Workaway visitors and if the weather is good we also have a heated pool. There is a river running through the grounds, two mill ruins and our Mill house. We would welcome well behaved pets as we have two new rescue puppy ourselves. The surrounding area has some lovely historic towns and is very rural and quiet. We are well equipped with tools and machinery we just need some extra hands.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    General Maintenance

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Moving to France from the UK has been a huge learning curve for us and we'd be happy to share our experience of starting a new life abroad. Working on the land is also new to us but we can show you what we have learnt so farand share our visions for the property we have bought. If you wish to practice your English we're happy to help and if you wish to practice your French you'll be able to explore the local areas here.

  • Help

    Help

    Ideally we are looking for visitors to support us with tackling the woodland - 20 years on non-maintenance has taken its toll. We would welcome people with chainsaw experience and have Sthil and Husqvana saws on site. It is not essential though as we need help to clear the woodland areas both by hand and with the tractor. If you are happy to pitch in with other land maintenance jobs during your stay then that is an added bonus for us.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    French: Intermediate

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Separate 2 bedroom cottage on the same site as our home. One room has a Kingsize bed, the other has a double and two singles. One bathroom and a kitchen/lounge with a woodburner.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We can provide bicycles for use to explore the area. If you have a car then there are many lovely villages and towns within 20-30 minute drive from the cottage. Brittany has a fascinating history and a lot of culture to enjoy. The woodland walks on out property alone are lovely but the rural landscape around us is super. The wildlife around the river and woods is charming.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week


Host ref number: 643729234235