Help us build our family farm projects in the middle of the Ecuadorian Amazon.



Favourited 153 times

  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks



  • last activity

    Last activity


  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends


  • Badges

    Facebook verified

 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

  • Description


    Hi there friends!

    My name is Jhoss I am 26! I love learning about new cultures, languages reading, traveling and being in contact with nature but overall social development work! I been in 4 continents, many countries, I just filmed a documentary backpacking South America and currently working on the editing part. I also work for a tourism/volunteer org. I lived in New York for more than 6 years and back in august I moved back to my beloved Ecuador!

    About my fam! They are the sweetest most amazing humans (maybe I am a bit bios) but yes they are! My mom is a devoted mommy/ housewife... she spoils all of us by cooking the best, healthiest food and just giving us love. My dad is the most hardworking man. He is a businessman who have work with cattle his whole life, from 20 year or so he would buy cattle in farms, a couple of years ago he purchased the "Finca" and now is raising cattle. He is my best friend, I can literally talk to him about everything over some beer. We love beer and dancing! Matter fact all my family loves dancing. I have a baby sister who is not a baby anymore, her name is Erika and she is a typical teenager who is focus on getting into college and getting a boyfriend.
    Also besides Spanish I am fluent in English and French. Mom and sis understands English and can speak but are shy. Dad only speaks Spanish, which is great to challenge you to learn the language.

    And yes..... about our project!
    My dad purchased the land more than 2 years ago, it has 50 hectares, 125 acres more or less. The Finca is located right in the heart of the Ecuadorian Amazon! We have direct access to the Pastaza river which forms part of the Amazon river. It is a magical place for the ones that love nature and biodiversity!
    From then my dad has been raising cattle in the most humane way possible. As a family we have decided that I will be the facefront of the Finca transforming it in the place we have in mind.
    Right now more than half of the place is still virgin forest (the plan is to keep this forest in some extent ). However our main objective is to make it an Organic Sustainable Farm. We have some plantations of sugar cane, citrics and plantain. This year we will be implementing Dragon Fruit, Pineapple, Papaya, Guayaba, Yucca and some herbals/medicinal plants. We are trying to start an organic fruit tea business ;)

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    DIY and building projects
    Farmstay help
    Help with Eco Projects
    Animal Care

  • UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    You want to do some research ? You want to have your own garden ? Learn about Amazonic biodiversity, forest and animals ? This is the perfect place for you!
    You will get the props of living in Ecuador, learning a new culture and polish your Spanish but more that than you will be able to grow personally using our farm as your own space, we are focus in an ethic way of farming. You can compare and contrast learning about different ways of farming.
    We will love to have you in our house in the highlands too when you are not working. I work with tourism and social development of communities so if you are interested in traveling and deeply learn about indigenous communities I can help with that!

  • Help


    We want you to become part of the fam and help us taking care of the crops. Specially our Dragon Fruit plantation around (2 hectares ) and the various fruits medicinal/herbal plants (2-3 hectares). The help essentially is to visit the crops daily, see how they are doing, if they are growing healthy and nice, clean the crops and add fertilizer. Anything that will help us getting beautiful, healthy crops.
    We have a city house in Ambato, Ecuadorian highlands. We (usually me and my dad, sometimes my mom) travel to the Finca once a week for 2-4 days. When I am not traveling for work I would stay there for a week.
    We want to use your knowledge and expertise about farming, we will gladly hear your advice and concerns about the work that we are doing.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    Spanish: Fluent
    French: Fluent

  • Accommodation


    We have a beautiful spacious house of red block and wood. First floor, spacious kitchen, living room, laundry room bathroom and cellar. In the second floor there is a master bedroom which is usually use by Mom and Dad. We have two other rooms and a 1 full bathroom. In one room the is a bunk bed that my sis and I share. The other room is yours! there is a bunk bed and a bed drawers and mirror. There is also lovely terrace where you can read a book overlooking the citrus plantation ;)
    Remeber we are in the Amazon, there are bugs, you should be cool using some bugspary or dealing with mosquito bites ;)

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    When you are not in the farm you can go and visit the beautiful touristic places that the Ecuadorian Amazon has to offer. Puyo, the biggest Amazonic city is an hour away and Banos the most touristic place in Ecuador is two hours away. If you want to stay with us in the highlands when you are not in the farm you can also do that and travel to small indigenous towns near us.
    When in the farm in your time off…. oh well is really up to you!
    Go to the natural pool we have nearby, outdoors yoga ?, research, expedition, go an visit the cattle, chickens and goats we have, read, write (the place is so peaceful perfect for these activities ) also painting if you want! backhorse riding, when we get a horse haha.
    If there is any other hobby you will like to practice, you can let us know and you will try to make it happen. We want you to be happy!

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (3.0)

Cultural exchange: (3.0)

Communication: (3.0)

Host ref number: 643179677521