Explore beautiful Galicia and help us convert our barn with some painting in Pontevedra, Spain

Country

Spain

Favourited 26 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    10/05/2020

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 1 day

 
  2020 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    LOOKING FOR HELPERS WITH SOME GOOD KNOWLEDGE ON PAINTING AND GARDENING FOR SPRING 2018!!

    Hola! We are a middle-aged couple who live in a town just 23km from the beautiful old and well-know city of Santiago de Compostela (the final destination of the famous pilgrimage route). We are both very lively and lovers of nature, so, although we live in town, we spend most of the time at my mum´s organic farm (just 6km away from town).
    We would really like to welcome some helpers in the farm during the spring/summer of 2018, from different spots of the world, who could give us a helping hand to paint the barn that we are just converting into our house. Most of the outside work has already been done. Most of the building, electricity, plumbing and carpentry work has already been done but we would be delighted if we could have some people who are skilfuld in painting and do the new walls that are not made of stone.

    Appart from that, We basically grow lots of vegetables for the family in the kitchen garden and we also have 3 very nice dogs, 2 cats and we grow chickens. Besides, we have many fruit trees in the orchard (peaches, apples, pears, figs...). We both enjoy working in the land as it is very rewarding picking up some many nice and fresh products and then use them in the cooking. We also elaborate home-made jam with the fruit.

    However, the plot of land always needs weeding, garden mowing, digging, watering plants in the summer and planting the vegetables, etc.
    Therefore, we are looking for helpers who speak English (middle-aged), and would like to enjoy quietness surrounded by nature, sharing some days with us. Besides, we would love to get some help in the farm (gardening, orchard, vegetables... helpers who could do some painting and general maintenance would be perfect). In exchange, we would offer you a double bed with use of the toilets around the house and the meals (mostly products from the farm). You would even be welcomed to use the kitchen to cook your own food, if you wish.

    We both love walking our dogs in the forests around, walking at the seaside, fishing, cooking... the town is only 6 km away, and there you can get everything you need and even take buses to move around Galicia.

    So, if you are looking for something like this, get in touch and we will try to organise something.

    Hope to hear from you!!

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    General Maintenance

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Travellers will be able to practise their Spanish (whatever the level), enjoy healthy food and of course, have the free time they need to go around Galicia and explore the beautiful sights. I would be more than willing to advice them of places to visit.

  • Help

    Help

    This spring/summer we would need helpers who are skilful in painting. we are currently converting my mum´s old farm into our future house. Most of the building, plumbing, electricity and carpentry will be hopefully finished by march and then we would like to start the painting work before we move in.
    Apart from that, in the spring we do appreciate a good helping hand with preparing the land to plant and grow the vegetables as my mum has recently gone under a knee surgery. Any other maintenance needed around the house (gardening, weeding...) is very much appreciated.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    Galician, Spanish, English and some basic French

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    a double bed in the house or in an attachment with ensuite toilet

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We live just 6 km from the twon. From there there are buses to the beautiful and historical city of Santiago de Compostela and also to other main cities in Galicia. You can visit the spectacular Galician coast (the nearest beach is just 30 km from town) and also the countless natural places inland.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 637725853333