Join me in my farmhouse becoming self-sufficient in Piedmont, Italy

Country

Italy

updated  

Favourited 31 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    4  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    21/11/2021

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 1 day

  • Badges

 
  2021 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    I’LL BE WORKING FULL TIME SO IF YOU DECIDE TO COME YOU NEED TO BE SELF-MOTIVATED AND INDEPENDENT AND FINE SPENDING THE DAY ON YOUR OWN.

    ABOUT the PROJECT

    Beautiful brick farmhouse on the top of a hill surrounded by bushland. Many wild herbs and fruit trees (hazelnuts, cherries, walnuts, elder, mulberries...).
    It's the family house where I grew up and I've now decided to move back here permanently with the plan of slowly turning it into a self-sufficient food forest. My approach is very experimental; I like permaculture ideas, Fukuoka ideas, concepts like syntrophy and letting nature do her job by simply filling her with seeds and plants.
    The long term project is also to develop a seed bank and an educational centre (traditional arts and foods, gardening, small scale farming...).

    ABOUT ME

    I’ve travelled a fair bit and lived abroad several years. I’ve gathered skills and knowledge and I’m constantly learning new things.
    I’ve been a cook and artisanal pasta maker and I'm always happy to prepare nourishing meals, share recipes and teach what I know.
    Now I’m studying professional woodwork. I believe I’m a kind and empathic person and I love to welcome guests and make them feel at home, involving them in my recreational activities and giving them an experience they will pleasantly remember BUT I’m very quick to ask someone to leave if I feel they’re trying to take advantage or they disrespect the rules of the house or the agreement we have.

    ABOUT the WORK

    Work is the keyword of our exchange, I’ve never asked anyone to overwork but I expect you to do a fair share of what needs to be done. I’ve also never counted hours but indicatively we can agree on 5 hours per day.
    Most of the work I need help with is physical and labour-intensive, of course I don’t expect anyone to work 5 hours straight but you need to be a bit fit and willing to sweat.
    There is also lighter work that can be alternated so to respect one’s body and energy levels.
    If you don’t want to do hard work but you have a specific skill I value and need we can agree on an alternative arrangement.
    General house keeping such as cleaning common areas, cooking, washing up is not counted as work but as basic life activities that you are expected to take part to.
    The reward for this is the chance to live in a truly beautiful place where renting a room would cost you more than 5 hours of unskilled work a day, to be nourished with genuine and healthy food and to be treated with gratitude and respect.

    Skills that I value at the moment are: knowledge in agriculture, forest management, permaculture, plant recognition, herbalism, tree pruning, chainsawing, carpentry, wood carving.

    OTHER USEFUL INFORMATION

    The diet is predominantly plant-based but it's ok to cook and eat meat in the house. Internet is limited to checking emails and doing small online research, you'll have to get a local sim card if you need more. There is a nearby village with a train station where you can be picked up if you don't have a car.
    You will need working clothes, working gloves, good outdoor shoes and a sleeping bag (or at least a sheet bag).
    It’s starting to get cold and the temperature at night it’s around 10/15 degrees in the house, much warmer in the kitchen with the wood stove. I can provide warm blankets.
    Since I’m paying your bills while you’re here I have no tolerance for waste: the plate needs to be empty at the end of the meal, the light needs to be off when you leave a room, the water needs to be off while you brush your teeth, the washing machine needs to be full to get started and the hot water system get turned on once a week.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Help with Eco Projects
    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Farmstay help
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    If you're studying a foreign language (Italian, English or Spanish) I can help both with grammar and conversation. I love my culture, especially the food and artcraft aspects of it, and I'm always willing to share what I know. Also I have a good knowledge of plants, herbs, gardening, farming, foraging...
    I love music and spend lots of my little free time studying an instrument, dancing, singing with friends.
    I love to meet with people from all over the world, learn a bit of their language, get inspired by their cuisine, listen to their music and share life stories.

  • Help

    Help

    At the moment there is a lot of cleaning pathways in the bush, freeing plants from suffocating ivy, collecting firewood, cleaning and tidying bushland close to the house, preparing the veggie gardens for next season. I also need help with housework, keeping the house clean and tidy.
    On the projects list, there is: a plant nursery, a woodshed, a solar dehydrator, a solar shower, a composting toilet. So if you have carpentry skills that's a bonus!
    Also, some of the time is spent collecting seeds, wild food and medicine and processing it (drying, preserving, fermenting...).

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    English: Fluent
    Spanish: Fluent
    Italian: Fluent
    French: Intermediate

    This host offers a language exchange
    I am a language teacher and I love both to teach and to learn new languages

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    You will have a comfortable bed either in a room by yourself of in a shared room if there are other visitors. I prefer you to bring a sleeping bag and/or a sheet bag with you. I provide pillows and extra blankets during the cold season.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    The area is between two medium-size cities: Asti and Alessandria. It is also only 1 hour by train from the regional capital Torino. So if you crave city life during your stay you can jump on a train and go exploring.
    The property is directly connected to the valley (although we need to finish cleaning the path) where you can go for pleasant walks to the natural park of Rocchetta or along the Tanaro river.
    For a relaxing time you can simply lay on the hammock and read one of the many interesting books we have or we can watch a documentary together, weave a basket or engage in some creative activity. If you play an instrument bring it along, live music is most welcome.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week




Host ref number: 636621352981