Join our family and help us live a permaculture lifestyle in the forest outside Paris, France



Favourited 217 times

  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks



  • last activity

    Last activity


  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 22 days

  • Badges

    Good Host

 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

  • Description



    We are a family of 4, composed by Stephane, Cynthia, Calista (21), and Django (15).
    Our daughter, Calista, did a lot of Workaway during one entire year, where she could learn a lot and discover Europe. Since she came back, we wanted to do the same, but in the other way. We want to host people.
    I am working in computer science; my wife is working in a French research organization in fundamental physics. Calista is doing her studies on psychology, and Django is in high school.
    We're living at the bottom of a little village, not so far from Paris. To be more precise, in the South of Paris. ​

    We are kind of ecologists sensible, gluten-free for part of the family (for health), try to be the most zero waste as possible, love animals and Nature. We are almost vegetarians, most of the time, we are not eating meat or fish. It's only when people want, or when we are invited. You'll eat a lot of delicious vegetables (some of them provided by the garden, take care!)
    We are running some projects. We have 3000 m2 of garden, surrounded by the forest. There is also an old house nearby, and there is plenty of work there. We would rebuild it as new as possible for hosting older people or students.

    Even if we're living near a forest, we are living close to Paris, crazy no? Who said that it was impossible?
    Anyway, by the train RER (Gif SUR YVETTE station), you can get there in 1 hour or less after a half-hour of a walk.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Language practice
    Help with Eco Projects
    DIY and building projects
    Animal Care
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    A lot, historical information, learning about other ways of life, learning permaculture...
    you can read a lot because we're lovers of books, so we have plenty of them here and comics!

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Help


    We would like to have some help for our animals: we have chickens, two cats and bees and we plan to have two goats...
    We need hands for maintenance of the garden (which is pretty big, so if you're lovers of nature you will have some work to do), of the two houses... We will see after together anyway what are the different tasks :)
    Some ideas for the garden :
    - planting
    - taking care of the chickens
    - usual daily tasks for garden

    If you're creative, artistic, permaculture lover, gardener... tell us your skill and we will be pleased to accommodate a dedicated work! Even if you think that you have nothing in your hands, you'll be welcome obviously!

    We expect as well some help for the housework: meal preparation and cleaning.

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    English: Fluent
    French: Fluent
    Italian: Fluent

    This host offers a language exchange
    This host has indicated that they are interested in sharing their own language or learning a new language.
    You can contact them directly for more information.

  • Accommodation


    You will sleep in the room of our daughter, Calista, which has a flat outside now and come back home from time to time.
    It's a lovely room at the top of the house; there are three mattresses. You can even see the view on the valley, and by night it's beautiful. You will have the bedroom available all weekends also.
    You'll have all the laundry that you need. If you prefer, you can take your tent, and stay in the garden.
    Our toilets are connected with the outside anyway so you'll be independent.

    We’re vegetarian, or almost, and we provide food, including weekends.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    There are so many things to see!
    Hicking (a loooot), Biking, Cooking... You can see farms that are nearby; also beekeepers, little village upside our house, go to take some courses of equitation (5 minutes by walk to where we live), discover our protected valley...
    Obviously, you can also discover Paris, and there it's impossible to do a list because there is too much too say.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    This host has indicated that they love having digital nomads stay.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?


  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)

Host ref number: 636464531694