Join me on my farm in Schönhausen, Germany

Country

Germany

Favourited 75 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    18/01/2022

  • paid opportunity

    Host offers payment

 
  2022 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Hello! In the very north-east of Germany I am running a farm with 200 sheep ecologically together with one farm hand. I produce several kinds of cheese which I sell on local markets, together with meat, sausages etc.
    There are around 15 dogs on the farm to fight wolves and to manage the herding, so you should get along with dogs in general.
    It is a challenging life out here and private time is limited but life with the animals is rewarding...

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Language practice
    Gardening
    Animal Care
    Farmstay help
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance
    Help with Computers/ Internet

  • UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Insight into the life with sheep, wage depending on skills

  • Host offers payment in line with the minimum wage

    Host offers payment in line with the minimum wage

    This host offers accommodation and payment.

    Host has indicated that they will pay at least the minimum hourly wage of their country for each hour worked and that accommodation will also be provided. They are asking for help with a business or business activity. Contact the host directly via the site messenger for more information and details about the wage provided. Any arrangements should be agreed in advance with your host.

  • Help

    Help

    There's different work-opportunities:
    fencing is most required
    stable work
    milking
    gardening
    maintenance around the house
    social media / website
    tbc

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    German: Fluent
    English: Fluent
    French: Fluent
    Hungarian: Fluent
    Italian: Beginner

    This host offers a language exchange
    I'd like to practice my French and to learn a good bit more of Italian

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Nice room in-house.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    As much as I like to get to know other people I do need time for myself, and since time's very limited we have to find a good balance between socialising and privacy. Although I am quite a warm person I tend to a severe manner of work. It is a sincere business we run around here and if people adapt, it's going well together but there's no energy for discussion (regarding the little things), you should know farm-life.
    I get along very well with open and honest people and I do my best to be alike. What I don't want around here is dreamers, doesn't work for me. Still, I have a broad educational and cultural background and a big heart and life's not just about farming. Formerly I worked as a political scientist, studied music and participated in social (sub-)cultural projects.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    This host can provide space for campervans.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    One

  • ...

    Hours expected

    me 7 - 19, you tell me your capacity


Host ref number: 636251449113