Art and film projects in the forests of Tepoztlán, Mexico

Country

Mexico

Favourited 105 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    7  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    17/05/2020

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    90.9 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 8 days

  • Badges

    Good Host
 
  2020 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    I live in a little house by a beautiful forest. It's in a town called Amatlán de Quetzalcoatl, very near the of Tepoztlán. An hour and a half away from Mexico City. I came here to work on some of the projects from a documentary collective I started with some friends.

    I lived in Mexico City for a long while and, after camping for two months in the beginning of this year, I decided to not go back to the city and move to this beautiful place where I can go to the forest when a walk is needed. From here, I've been working as a film editor through a documentary production collective I started with some friends.

    About me. I like taking long walks. I'm sort of introverted, but relaxed about it really. I enjoy conversations where people don't know what they will say. I like waking up really early, but I don't make noise. I'm a vegetarian, and I've been trying to learn to cultivate the "sharing" aspect of food, as opposed to sticking to rules.

    I'm always working on some film project that I've started and I also enjoy getting involved in other friends' creative efforts or in projects or actions that get me involved in the communities that sorround me. Documentary film has made me get to know many different kinds of environments and people in this country and that has been its greatest gift to me, I think.

    I've always tried to get involved in projects that allow me to learn something what sorrounds me or "the world" even. Little by little, I've found that everything we do has that potential. This is what I've been trying to learn and re-learn.

    Although I mostly work in film things as a profession, I've also explored other areas like art therapy, theater and pedagogy.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Help in the house
    Art project

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    You'd be living in a beautiful village and at walking distance from a beautiful forest. It's a special place, as it's supposed to be the place where the mexica deity Quetzalcoatl was born and, regardless of that, many travellers seem to come here when they're looking for "something new" in their lives. The nearest town is a very "sought-after" touristic town called Tepoztlán. Mexico City is about an hour and a half bus ride from there.

    I'm also a certified Spanish professor and would be happy to use that skill as part of the exchange.

  • Help

    Help

    Here's a list of things where help could be useful. I'd be happy to share the thing I've done with whomever is interested and I'd love to see the things you like doing too.

    GRAPHIC DESIGN. One of the documentaries is in pre-production stage and is begging for a graphic designer. This movie will portray a group of merchants and artisans in mexico city as they create theatre plays about the troubles/issues/challenges in their communities. The plays they'll create are in the tradition of "theatre of the oppressed", if you're interested in the subject or would like to find out about it.

    GARDENING. There's a pretty garden in the house, but it needs work. If there's someone who has skills/experience/love for gardening, I'd like to share a space and learn from you.

    YOGA. It'd be great if someone who had experience teaching or practicing could teach me some sequences so that I can eventually practice on my own. I've practiced intensely during periods of time, but I've always depended on taking classes with a teacher.

    MURAL MAKING. There's a terrace in the house. This area has room for three murals. If you have experience / interest on murals, please send me some pictures of some of your creations.

    MOVIE EDITING. I'm currently juggling 3 video projects on the editing stage. If you have experience or would like to learn this craft, I'd be happy to share efforts and skills. One of the projects is a feature length documentary on the history of rock climbing in Mexico. That's mostly where the room for (patient & diligent) help is.

    DRAWING/ANIMATION/PUPPET MAKING. If you have skills in these, I'm all ears!

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    Spanish, English

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    You'd be living in a pretty house near the village center. There's a vacant room with a large bed and vegetation just outside the window. The house has one bathroom, I believe it's enough for two or three people. The house has a nice livingroom, a record player, tons of books and a garden that could be a little less wild/raggy with some help.

    Ingredients for food will be provided by the host, the choosing of the ingredients and the cooking will be a teamwork, as in any home.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    What to do on your time off? There's always the forest and its springs, if you're looking for a swim. If you're looking for a bit of tourist action, Tepoztlán is a bike ride away, or a short bus ride too. If you're not familiar with "Tepoz", I'm sure google will do a better job at giving you an idea of that place. It's a pretty touristic town with tons of history. Mexico City, with all its wonders and terrors, is an hour and a half away from Tepoztlán.

    Buses between Amatlán and Tepoztlán run from morning until the evening. The bus passes by just outside our home.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    One

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 4 days a week

The room
The village's "downtown"

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)






Host ref number: 631856645731