Join our family in Grindavík, Iceland!

Country

Iceland

Favourited 367 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    4  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    29/11/2021

  • Badges

    Good Host
 
  2021 

 Min stay requested: at least 1 month

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Hi workawayer!

    Attention!!
    We are renovating our house completely almost! So we are renting now and it just happens to be next door! You will still have your own bedroom for yourself ofcourse. We are hoping to be able to move in before christmas. But don't get this wrong, our renting house is very warm and welcoming also. And you would also be staying with us there. But the big plus about being next door is that we can still use our hot tub on the patio and enjoy the stars in the evening and sometimes the northen lights!

    We are family of four plus four furry one's!
    Me (Anna) and my fiance (Bjarki) have been together for almost 12 years and we have 2 kids at the age of 8 years (Alexandra) and 2 year old (Frosti). We are at the age 28 and 32 years old.
    Then its our furry one's, The three musketeers (our cats) Berglind(3years), Skuggi and Oreo (brothers, 1 year old). We also just had a puppy and he is now 4 months old, he is a german shepherd and his name is Leo.
    We live in Grindavík wich is 25 minutes drive from the capital of Iceland (Reykjavik). Grindavík is also located 2 minutes from the blue lagoon (geothermal spa). Very beautiful nature all around.

    We are very open, considerate and fair people.
    I'm in school now, Im taking three semesters in time of one semester, so it's alot of work in short time! So I really need help with the kids and the chores when I need to study or do errands.
    The kids are in school and kindergarden. Alexandra finishes at 13.10. She has practises (football and basketball). She needs help attending and to get ready for them. Frosti is at kindergarden until 16.00.

    So mainly we need help with the chores while the kids are at school and sometimes to prepare our dinner for some days. Welcome Alexandra home from school and helping her with her schedule (practise etc). Some days you would have to pick up Frosti from kindergarden. And now in mid October Leo is attending dog training school at 19.00 pm, it's located 1 hour away from us, so this will require 2-3 days every other week to stay with the kids during dinner time and taking them to bed to sleep.

    Im more than happy taking you for daytrips and show you around if time is given to. We are also very active on weekends and you would be more than welcome to join us!

    Note that I mark us as smokers, I (Anna) smoke a little bit and if you smoke it would be okay outside. I dont want cigarettes on the lawn or anywhere else than the trash. (chainsmokers not accepted!) :)

    We also look into having couples!

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Language practice
    Teaching
    Gardening
    Animal Care
    Babysitting and creative play
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Beautiful nature, learning our language, we have family all over iceland, We visit alot south area of Iceland where hvolsvöllur,vík í mýrdal and these town are. They have alot of beautiful things to see and learn about! you would be more than welcome to join us in our trips and I (Anna) would be more than happy to take you on some daytrips and show you our culture etc when time is given to do so.

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Help

    Help

    Animal care: Feeding the cats - Going for a short walk with Leo and take him out for a pee in the garden ( He is so young so it's best for hi to be able to go out every 2 hours for a pee)

    Cooking: It's very important that you know your way around the kitchen! we love tasty food! we also love baking so knowing how to bake would be great!
    We are looking to eat a little bit more healthier food than we are used to wich is alot of hamburgers and pizzas! :')

    Cleaning the house and laundry: Keeping the entire house clean (around 120 square meters on one floor).
    *wipe the dust / clean the dirt off.
    *vaccum and clean floor (vaccum everyday, clean when needed)
    *bathroom clean (sink,mirror,shower and toilet)
    *Kitchen all clean. (everything that would need a cleaning)
    Change the sheets of the beds 1 time a week.
    Laundry
    *Put in the washing machine. taking out and hang to dry.
    We take bigger cleaning 1 time a month (windows, oven, under furniture etc). Then we all work together.

    Babysitting: Welcoming Alexandra home from school (13.10pm) and helping her with her schedule. Some days will be asked to pick Frosti up from the kindergarden (16.00pm). Then it's just mainly helping them and play with them, they love being outdoors!


    Our daughter loves learning english! So if you know how to teach and are patient it would be a big plus!
    She also needs more attention and learn how to communicate nicely to people. So taking her out to the park etc will also be required.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    Icelandic: Fluent

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    You will have bedroom for yourself. Room, closet, window, Tv (netflix,plex...).
    We have hot tub on our patio that you can use aswell. (This can still be used though we are renovating)
    So its perfect going to the hot tub enjoying.
    Then ofcourse you are more than welcome using the rest of the house as any other family member!

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)






Host ref number: 627778329679