Help in our garden and with DIY projects in Atlanta, USA


United States

Favourited 453 times

  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks



  • last activity

    Last activity


  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    78.3 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 17 days

  • Badges

    Super Host

 Min stay requested: at least 3 weeks

  • Description


    A family of three (single mom with two boys - 13 and 15 years-old). We live in a house which is located East of Atlanta in Decatur with easy access to the train and near everything worthwhile in the city. My sons speak fluent German. I am looking for help around the house and garden. We want to establish a fruit and vegetable garden and raise chickens (I have experience in both of these). I am also doing some fun DIY home improvement projects (painting, light carpentry, landscaping).

    We love the outdoors, music, languages, and travel. You are welcome to join us on our outings. I've traveled all over the world and enjoy exploring other countries and cultures. I have basic to intermediate fluency in Chinese, Spanish, Italian, German and French, and I enjoy practicing any of those languages. I love hosting and sharing so I hope you have a great time with us.

    You must be at least 25 years old to be our Workaway. I have a very busy life that requires you to make decisions, take initiative and have some autonomy. I can only accept responsible, worry-free Workaways. This is not couch surfing; we would expect 20-25 hours of engaging work in exchange for a safe and comfortable place to sleep and home-cooked meals.

    If you are interested please tell me the following info so I can understand what you need:
    Title: Your First Name - Your Dates; Example: "Marcie - 15 July 2022 - 30 Aug 2022" or "Marcie - 6 weeks in Sept-Nov"
    Try to answer these questions in your message: Are your dates flexible or fixed? Have you already purchased tickets or made plans? Are you waiting to purchase tickets after hearing from a host? Is this urgent? If so, please explain.

    Please briefly describe you and your skills, talents, interests. Also, what are your goals for Workaway while with us? (explore area in free time, learn English, cultural exchange with us, learn or improve a skill, find a local job, etc.) But please be brief and honest!

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Language practice
    DIY and building projects
    Farmstay help
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance
    Help with Computers/ Internet

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    My previous Workaways say that my English is really easy to understand. I think this is because I've worked as a journalist and have good grammar and pronunciation. I don't mind correcting people when they speak and am happy to help you improve your English.

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Help


    Thanks for considering a stay with us in Decatur! We enjoy hosting Workaways and guests in our home. The main tasks for volunteers would be assisting me with DIY projects around the house, practicing German with us, and anything else that may be a skill you have or wish to explore.

    The better experiences for hosting and Workaways occurs when we are like a family and have good communication! If you want to learn English or gain an American family experience then you will be happy here.

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    English: Fluent

    This host offers a language exchange
    German, French, Spanish, Italian, Chinese

  • Accommodation


    I love Workaways and will treat you with dignity and respect. I can offer several living arrangements that include a queen bed or two twin beds with private bathrooms. The internet works great and the location is fantastic. We have a nice yard, and easy access to the subway station within 15 minutes walking.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    This home is extremely close to shopping, gym, entertainment, restaurants, public transportation, and parks.

    There are a lot of things to do around Atlanta, with a lot of places to see art/museums, sporint events, festivals, concerts, and so on.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    The private room has a desk for a computer and you may also use any common area such as the living room.

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    We may be able to accommodate a parked camper van but due to city laws you may not sleep in it while parked at our house.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 625632823431