Come and be part of nature in Odeceixe, Portugal



Favourited 191 times

  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks



  • last activity

    Last activity


  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    64.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 10 days

  • Badges

    Super Host

 Min stay requested: 1 week or less

  • Description


    Hello, we are Anne and Pjotr. After having worked and travelled around the world for the last 5 years we are finally starting our project.

    It is 18 hectares of bushland and consist mostly of hillside with nice views and forested floodland next to the river Seixe.

    Our aim is to life a sustainable life and to conserve the nature present on the land (turtles, otters, wild cats, dragon flies, and much more). We want to build naturally and start a permaculture inspired garden whilst enhancing the forest to be more drought, fire and climate resilient.

    During our travels we have visited many communities all over the world and have worked as volunteers at many projects, such as organic farms, permaculture gardens, ecological building and ecotourism bussinesses. Pjotr’s background is drummer, gardener and entrepeneur and I am trained as ecologist.

    Our dream started 4 years ago while traveling Australia, since then we have been looking at ways to make this dream a reality. We purchased a campervan in the Netherlands and looked for suitable land around Europe. Finally our van broke in Odeceixe and we fell in love with the place. Now we just returned from working our ass off for two years in Australia and New Zeeland which made it possible to pay off the land.

    We are going to rebuild a ruin with taipa (rammed earth) this year. Hopefully we can start this fall. At the moment we have running water and will set up power, we have a large camp kitchen and have started a kitchen garden. We will be constructing hugelbeds next week, so needs hands for that. The work is physically demanding and can be in the sun. We work 5 hours a day Monday to Friday and in the weekend you are free. We will provide food for 3 meals a day.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Help with Eco Projects
    DIY and building projects
    Farmstay help
    Creating/ Cooking family meals

  • UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We are located in rural Portugal close to small coastal Town Odeceixe. Many people farm the traditional way and there are many traditional crafts and products to experience.There is the Rota vincentina walking route and several markets which you can go to. Also there is a large international community present of which many are living a more self sustainable life all in their own way. We are really in the pioneering phase setting everything up. So if you would like to expierience how it is to set up everything from scratch in a raw piece of nature this is the place for you. You can learn how to build, amongst others: camp kitchen, outdoor shower compost and setting up water and electricity and designing the land. We will work 5 hours a day, 5 days a week and in the weekend we will be free. We provide 3 meals a day. The 5 hours do not include cooking, doing dishes etc. this is part of the life in the camp and we all do our share in this:) You can borrow a bike to go to town or beach.

  • Help


    Our activities at the moment are building shower cabins a terrace a deck out of recycled or natural materials, we are setting up big army tents for summer. Furthermore we are preparing the building site, which we will build with Taipa. We are making a water purification system for our grey water. We need to clear land around the ruin for fire safety. We want to improve the outdoor kitchen and camp for you as volunteers. We need to set up our larger solar system and construct a watering system. The terrain is steep and the help is physically demanding.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    Dutch: Fluent
    German: Intermediate
    Spanish: Beginner
    Portuguese: Beginner

  • Accommodation


    You can come with your own van or tent, or Sleep in a army tent this includes sheets and bedding. We have a big tent /campkitchen with communal living room. We have a very simple outdoor shower and compost toilet. Everything else we still have to set up:) we also have 3 bikes and you can ride your bike to town, it’s only 3 km’s on a dirt road and from town it’s 4 km’s on asfalt to the beach. We have only phone reception if you walk up the hill. We are working on getting WiFi set up. We are in the pioneering stage of the project so we are living really in the bush:) It is cold in the morning and warm during the day and then cold again at night. Make sure you bring warm clothing for the night and good shoes and work clothes for the day.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    At the moment we are looking for 4 to 6 volunteers who are not afraid of pioneering and can handle a bit of bush living. It would be great if you are a bit handy with construction. Not afraid of hard manual work. Towards the fall we hope to start building and we will we need a larger team of people to build the house. This will be rammed earth and involves hard manual labor also the days will be longer but there is much to learn. People with building skills like carpentry, plumbing and electrics would be great.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    There is enough space to park you van:)

  • Can possibly accept pets

    Can possibly accept pets


  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (4.5)

Communication: (5.0)

Host ref number: 624664173497