Finnish countryside home and sheepfarm in 'middle of nowhere' Näljänkä, Finland

Country

Finland

updated  

Favourited 122 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    2  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    03/04/2020

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    80.4 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 8 days

 
  2020 

 Min stay requested: 1 month or more

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Hello! Im 35 years old lady studying to be an electrician. I'm living in a farm where lives 60 sheeps, three cows, 5 dogs (bordercollie) and 2 cats. I need help to watch over the animals when I'm away from home studying and taking care of the household.

    Traveling to my place is easiest when you take a bus to Taivalkoski or Suomussalmi. I can pick you up from there. To Taivalkoski bus is coming from Oulu and to Suomussalmi from Kajaani.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Farmstay
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Language practice

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    My small sheep farm is located in Northern Finland, in the middle of woods with beautiful hilly landscape. If you are looking a place in the middle of nowhere, this is place for you! Here is only the nature and the silence around you :)
    At my place you are able to get to know traditional Finnish way of living in the countryside.

  • Help

    Help

    Help needed on feeding and taking care of animals, (sheeps, cows, dogs cats) and helping inside the house (cleaning and preparing meals).
    In summer we raise vegetables and herbs for our own use. Berries and mushrooms we can pick up from our forest. We have small lake on our farm where you can go fishing perch, roach and pike. Our goal is to get as much as possible on subsistence economy whit our food. In summertime our farm animals are pasturing and our job is to harvest hay and silage for the winter. At September we take animals back to barn and start mating season on November for ewes and rams. At April lams are born. Summertime jobs are harvesting feed and building fences for the animals.

    Workawayers will be taking part on daily routines, like giving hay and water to sheep's, feeding dogs and cats. Helping in side house includes vacuuming and swiping floors. Also cooking for everyone includes.
    In that time when I'm at my school you will be watching over for the dogs (and pley with them also). It is very easy because you only have to let them go out and come back in the house.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English, Finnish

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Room inside the house, if more than one volunteer, shared room.
    Food is free, and free to use in the house. Sweets, alcohol and other goodies do not include.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Activities you can do here are hiking, walking in the nature, skiing, snowshoeing, fishing, camping and ice fishing. Snow comes around December and melts down in April.
    House includes little gym/ballroom, so you are able to take care you daily exercise routine also during your visit.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 3-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)




Host ref number: 621791893342