Help with our daily family life and learn about African culture in Dartford, UK

Country

United Kingdom

updated  

Favourited 312 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    24  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    27/02/2021

  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    193

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    84.9 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 4 days

  • Badges

    Facebook verified
 
  2021 

 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    I am a single parent with 2 grown children and a girl of secondary school age.
    i enjoy working for myself

    you will improve in English if this is needed and learn our African culture and style of dressing and food we cook.

    We also would like to experience another culture in our house, so we want someone who is not shy to share cooking experience

    My work is very interesting but sometimes can be demanding due to other tasks such as housework within the home

    I am looking for some one who is not lazy and is very conversant with keeping their room and environment tidy without being told, also be ready to iron as i don't like keeping a pile of clothes to be ironed.

    Do you love to paint within the house? this would be an added bonus.

    The person will have their own bed in a room . This room has other belongings also, so we will need access if need be, . The person must be child friendly as my daughter is 14 and can be chatty sometimes

    Please it is very important that from the onset the person realises that they are coming to a family of African origin ( please check my photos)

    The person must be neat, know how to use initiative to carry out tasks stipulated during their staying time and ready to do some cooking, cleaning, ironing and gardening, also if willing come out with me for experience . i am very flexible with time, you can tour the local areas of interest or take trips to places of interest within Dartford or local surroundings

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    my culture is African, there are some ways we do our cooking and also ways we greet. we are a strong believer in respect to elders and this is observed in our ways of life.

  • Help

    Help

    i am looking for help with domestics around the home and garden so if you love gardening, you are very welcome.
    I am also looking for someone who can help do some painting around the house, i enjoy DIY and keeping my house up to date

    good communication skills will be great to have, or if you are looking to improve your English, this can be of benefit
    I am looking for someone who is ready to stay from 2 weeks or more. This will be to the advantage of someone looking to learn a different culture and different cooking styles. a young matured person ready to take on a new environment and the challenges that comes with it. The person must be very neat and respectful as well.

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    English: Fluent
    Yoruba: Fluent

    This host offers a language exchange
    This host has indicated that they are interested in sharing their own language or learning a new language.
    You can contact them directly for more information.

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    we live in a three bedroom house, The private bedroom available has my child's belongings inside. As she is a young girl she has her toys and her books which she uses quite a lot.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    during time off, the volunteer can take time to enjoy long walks and also go to big shopping centres, there are local buses that makes going out easy. there are also central parks which can be visited in Dartford or the surrounding areas.

    I am very flexible and warm, there can be flexibility in working times such as during school times so the afternoon is taken to know the environment.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    One

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 5 hours a day, 5 days a week


















Host ref number: 619814876343