Help us with organic gardening and building projects in Saxony-Anhalt, Germany

Country

Germany

Favourited 51 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    3  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    04/10/2019

Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are Aline (32), Holger (31), Grandma Christa (88), cats Parzival ans Lilly, chickens and sheep. We live on a farm in the sparsely populated Altmark in the middle of Germany. After studying, we moved to the countryside to have our own food and to live a freer, more independent life with less constraints and unpleasant compromises. We are cosmopolitan, speak German, English, French and Plattdeutsch and have already visited one or the other country.

    Holger is a sculptor, restorer and carpenter, and he also passes on his knowledge in seminars.
    Aline comes from Geneva, is a development worker and environmentalist and has a lot of international experience.
    Grandma Christa is an industrious farmer from the old school and the good soul of the farm.
    We are not vegetarians, but we often cook without meat, sometimes vegan, and eat preferably self-grown and organic.

    Our philosophy is to try living in harmony with the nature and our environment. We produce fruit, vegetable, eggs and meat on our farm for our own use and for our family. We don't use pesticides or mineral fertilizer. We try different varieties of crops, we leave some wild places for animals and created various ecosystems (pond, hedges, meadow, rock- and woodpiles...). Aline is also interested in the concept of permaculture and try to implement it.

    There are always a lot of things to do on the farm. For some of the projects we found that we would need help, and that's why we are on workaway ;-). We think it is a good possibility to get some help in exchange of a place to sleep and good food, and for us all a nice experience with sharing knowledge and good moments!

    We would like to have someone who can come and help for one or two week.

    On our Blog, you can learn more about us and our farm: hofimmekath.wordpress.com

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    General Maintenance
    Help with Eco project
    Animal care

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    You can learn a lot about self-sufficiency (Selbstversorgung) and life in the countryside. Besides vegetable cultivation, you will get craft skills for life. You can practice German, or French. Holger can teach you a lot of handicraft techniques. With Aline you can learn about recognising birds and bird songs, wild edible plants, and delicious cooking and baking.

    We also have the chance to live 7km from Ecovillage Siebenlinden, with 140 inhabitants the biggest ecovillage in Germany. There you can learn about alternative living, ecological building and community life.

  • Help

    Help

    We mainly need help with the garden and with building and construction projects on the farm.

    Since we are doing everything on the farm by ourselves and Holger is a craftsman, you can learn a lot. Since it is much about physical work, you should be in a good physical condition.

    Currently there are following works to do (according to the season and of course of your personal interests):

    - make Terra Preta
    - build a new roof on the sheepfold
    - plowing, planting, watering, chopping weeds and harvesting, and conserve the harvest
    - feeding sheep and chickens and clearing out the stables
    - planting trees and hedges
    - building fences
    Special highlights could be:
    - hay harvesting and potato harvesting
    - making the (fire)wood in winter (we have our own wood plantation)
    - collecting spruce sprouts and sweet chestnuts

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    Deutsch, Englisch, Französisch

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Now (2019), we can offer you two wonderful sleeping possibilities. The first one is a cozy little old-fashioned guest room upstairs with lots of privacy, with a woodstove. The other possibility is the guest-caravan in the garden, with pond-view but without electricity, when you can experience a very simple life.
    In any case, you share with us the kitchen, bathroom and toilet.
    We have Wi-Fi and are non-smokers. Smoking in the house is not allowed.

    Our village, Immekath, has about 600 inhabitants, a lively village life, a pub but no shopping possibility. The nearest shop is 5 km away, the nearest small town with train station in 30 km. A car is therefore helpful, but a bike is also possible. The Altmark is a very sparsely populated, slightly hilly region with a lot of agricultural cultural landscape, culturally interesting historical places and solitary nature. If you like sailing, just ask Holger!

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    In our region it is an advantage to have a car. There are only few public transportation. With a bike, it is possible to drive to the next bigger village where they are shops and buses.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Dacharbeiten am Haus
workout in the woods
Entspannung im Garten mit Katzen und Schafen
Mist!!! das braune Gold des Landwirts :-D
Alines garden
Potato harvest
Our funny mini silky chickens
The hay harvest
A delicious salad from the garden with lots of edible flowers
This is the caravan where you could sleep.
This is the guestroom where you would sleep. It's still more or less "GDR-Style" ;-)
This is Aline's "Permaculture Garden", used to try out permaculture elements. With vegetable garden, herbs, flowers, a pond, fruit-trees, wild areas, compost, etc.
This is the field where we grow potatoes and many vegetables. And the cat ;-)
Our house. On the left side lives the grandma, on the right is our side. The guestroom is upstairs.
Aline, Holger, and Baby Sheep


Host ref number: 618356423217