Help me around my home in on of the most beautiful parts of rural Scotland

Country

United Kingdom

new host  

Favourited 32 times


  • rating

    Host rating

    Not yet rated
  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    2  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    20/08/2019

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 8 days

  • Badges

Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    I am a teacher, working during the summer holidays on a project to renovate my house. I live in the Cowal peninsula - one of the most beautiful parts of rural Scotland. My home is a much loved 19th century farmhouse where I raised my family, now in need of a fresh coat of paint. If you enjoy good food, good wine, good walking in spectacular scenery and good company, you’ll feel very at home with me

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    General Maintenance

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    I love my community. It is small but strong, with so much to offer. The Cowal Way - one of Scotland’s National Trails - is on my doorstep. Lochs, mountains, wildlife and a very dry sense of humour are just a few of the experiences you’ll encounter. Being off the beaten track means avoiding mass tourism - so if you’re interested in an authentic, honestly Scottish experience, I would be so happy to host you. As part of my home, you will meet funny, eccentric, down to earth people who will genuinely want to welcome you into their lives. We are open minded, whole-hearted, and we don’t suffer fools gladly. We like books, films, banter, food, and the occasional kitchen disco.

  • Help

    Help

    Internal and external painting of the house, garden tidying, some clearing work to get rid of an old wall, some fencing. No specialist skills required, although if you can turn your hand to more complicated jobs such as dealing with a private water supply, fitting a wood burning stove, or swearing loudly at trespassing sheep, that would be appreciated.
    Couples or single females only.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English, Gaelic, French, Spanish, German

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    The house is detached and just outside a small village. The two available bedrooms are private double rooms on their own upper floor, with an incredible loch view over the Isle of Bute and Arran. Shared bathroom between the two rooms. The garden Is lawns and shrubs and incredibly tranquil. Shared kitchen. Home-cooked catered meals will be provided unless you would prefer to share the cooking, or cook for yourselves. Good food is supplemented by local produce, grown through the community polytunnel scheme.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    You will experience village life in a traditional Scottish community. The tiny village of Glendaruel has ancient standing stones, a neolithic cairn and a beautiful historic church. Colintraive is six miles away with an award winning pub, sculpture park and ferry to the isle of Bute. The beautiful village of Tighnabruaich is seven miles away with pubs, restaurants, a sailing school and a marina and spa, and the ferry to Kintyre. Passing public transport (buses) go along what has been called the most beautiful road in Scotland. Glasgow is 90 minutes away. In summer here there are fetes, highland games, seafood festivals and galas in the wider area. cycling is an attraction, we are next to a famed route which takes in Ayrshire, Cowal and Bute in a day’s cycle called the three ferries challenge. The Cowal Way is a 57 miles national walking and cycling trail, which passes on its way to Loch Lomond and is very accessible.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week



Host ref number: 616837963245