Join us on a small family finca southwest of San Rafael, Argentina

Country

Argentina

Favourited 125 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    12  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    08/07/2019

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 2 days

  • Badges

    Super Host
Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Sorry, but we will not be accepting any more volunteers, other than those currently schefuled, for the next few months. We will update the profile when we need more helpers. Thanks for your interest.

    American expat who has a family finca (farm) in San Rafael, 3 1/2 hours south of Mendoza city, with Olives, grapes, apricots, pears, apples, and plums; as well as few other fruits for personal use. We are located just Southwest of San Rafael surrounded by vineyards and fruit orchards. It is easy access to various tourist attractions like Valle Grande, the wine tasting tours, biking, horse back riding, swimming, etc.
    Right now we are in need of a person experienced in finishing drywall, plastering/sanding. Knowledge of brick work/masonry would be helpful as well!!
    Please note: we do NOT accept smokers, vegetarians or celiacs. Also, since English is the common language amongst the travelers, you must be able to communicate and follow instructions in English. So please send your request in English so I know you speak and understand English. We do speak English in the house.
    Thank you for understanding.
    We require a minimum stay of 2 weeks, but prefer 3.
    We do expect volunteers to help conserve water since we have to have our water brought in by truck. Volunteers must clean up after meals which is not included in "work hours". And mostly, we expect table manners, no eating with your mouth open and smacking of lips will be tolerated.
    PLEASE bring your own towel and toiletries (shampoo, deodorant, tooth paste, etc).

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    General Maintenance

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    There are museums locally, there are the local farm workers to talk with, there is one of the best tourist attractions in Western Argentina here called "Valle Grande" with lots of touristy things to do but also lots of geological formations and lots of nice views. Volunteers with also be able to Practice English (we speak English at home since it the common language amongst volunteers, so please be able to follow instructions in English) and Spanish, learn how to prune grapes as well as some other types of fruit trees, Possibly learn about harvesting and also making wine, depending on time of year.

  • Help

    Help

    We still have some projects that we need help with , such as garden maintenance, canning fruits and vegetables, making jams, jellies, and pickles, some remodeling work on our old house, repairing irrigation gates, and broken support posts. Also there is cutting firewood for next winter, whatever happens to be a priority at the time.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English and Spanish

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    The guest room can holds 2 guests at a time, but just to note, it is not a hostel and we do not place opposite sex travelers together, so if we have a couple of girls volunteering, we will not accept a guy until after they leave.
    Continental breakfast is provided as well as a good lunch of sandwiches and soup or salads (or left overs from the previous night's dinner) and a complete dinner. Food provided is enough for the average person, so if you eat like a bottomless pit you will need to pitch in some food costs or work extra to make up for it. Food is not "free"; it is partial compensation for the work done and food costs keep climbing due to the poor exchange rates.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    San Rafael has a number of wine tours that are free to the public, there are also over 50 tourist agencies that can put together any type of excursions, such as traveling through the canyon, doing white water rafting during the summer, bike tours, etc.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Asado
Pizza Night
Volunteer Andrea
Three volunteers
Volunteer Nicholas
Volunteer Tom
Volunteers posing
making prunes
Rejuvenating Apricots
Mountain views
Guest room
Valle Grande
Apricots in Autumn
Guest house
Grape vines







Host ref number: 614642711115