Join a couple of artists with Gardening, building, decorating in the forest in Csolyospalos, Hungary

Country

Hungary

new host  

Favourited 44 times


  • rating

    Host rating

    Not yet rated
  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    7  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    23/09/2019

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 1 day

  • Badges

    Good Host
Contact Register
  2019 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are a couple of artists (Lithuanian & French) with big dreams! We've just moved to a new country and landed on a big property, which we are trying to restore and make into something special. With an enchanting forest on 3 sides, a lake 200m away, beautiful starry nights and intense bird songs in the mornings this would make a perfect place for various creatives to gain inspiration and relax, as well as a great place to do workshops, mini-festivals camping and yoga retreats. If you'd like to participate in making it happen by giving us a hand with gardening, repairs and building work – please get in touch! We speak English, Russian, Lithuanian, French, Spanish, basic German between the two of us and starting to learn Hungarian, you are welcome to practice any of these!

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    General Maintenance
    Help in the house
    Art project

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We are a highly mixed couple Sasha – a Russian Lithuanian and Louis, an England-born French and Congolese mix. We both lived in London and we both do art. You could learn a few decorating tips, a few artistic skills (painting, drawing, composition, assemblage...) and we have got a guitar too! It's a great opportunity to learn something about nature that you didn't know before, see things you haven't seen, gain experience and confidence in repairing things – as you would have put your own two hands to it! As far as languages are concerned, English, French, Russian and Lithuanian are all possible to practice with us. If you speak more than a basic German and Hungarian you will be teaching us instead. If you are interested in any of our future project, we might collaborate at a later stage!

  • Help

    Help

    The help we would need involves gardening, building work and repairs, for the most part and maybe some decoration - your beautiful touch would be appreciated if you are up for it. Gardening at our place includes weeding, cutting the grass with a loan mower or an edge trimmer (we got them), picking up dry branches, cutting wood for the winter, watering fruits, veg and flowers as well as general tiding up. By building & repair work we mean possible work with cement or wood, possible breakage work, installation work, getting on the roof to fix it, replacing pipes, filling in cracks, giving a hand with jobs involving heavy lifting, maybe some electrical work, maybe some plumbing – all depends on when you come – knowledge is appreciated but not necessary. If you speak good Hungarian you would be used as a translator. If you're an artist who wants to have a go at making a mural – you are welcome to do that here.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English, Russian, Lithuanian, French, Spanish, basic German

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    We've got a house for the guests that accommodates up to 4 people (extra 2-4 are possible to accommodate in our extra room). In the guesthouse there is a double bed on the upper floor and a king size bed on the ground floor. There are kitchen, shower, toilet, washing machine, sitting room and a terrace with a table and chairs. Our house has got a kitchen area, bathroom, sitting room and bedroom – if necessary, there is also a camper van. We haven't got internet onsite, but good connection is available at a local Hotel < 2km down a quiet track with forest and fields on both sides. They have a beautiful terrace where you could use the wifi – but be sure to order a drink or some ice-cream to be fair to the place. There is also the village Csólyospálos approx 3km away where there is an internet cafe that also serves deserts, ice-cream, snacks, alcohol, tobacco... We've got bicycles. For internet emergencies we've got my phone with extremely slow connection.
    We consume very little animal-based food, we do not cook or buy meat (fish, eggs, milk & cheese are possible). For breakfast & lunch there would be ingredients (bread, cereal, eggs – we don't always eat lunch ourselves) and for dinner a meal would be cooked. Let us know about your preferences, allergies etc so we can prepare, some things can be re-arranged.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Around us there are 2 small villages Csólyospálos and Kömpöc. We do all our shopping and some DIY shopping at Csólyospálos – it's bigger and closer. Go to Kömpöc for a nice cycle ride on a true countryside road. Very close to us (walking distance) there is a lake with benches and a fire place, about 2 km from us there is the Csipkerózsa Park Hotel with a relaxing atmosphere and activities such as swimming pool, horses, massage... About 10km from us there is a town called Kiskunmajsa where most things of 'town civilization' are available, slightly further, maybe 2 more km, there is a wonderful reasonably priced Spa Center Jonathermál for all your watery needs and entertainment (baths, saunas, slides, food stalls, indoor and outdoor pools). The closest city is Szeged at 30km from us. There are bus connections to both Kiskunmajsa and Szeged.
    At our place we expect respect for nature, art and tidiness

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)






Host ref number: 614113964782