Help around the garden and some renovation projects in an old farmhouse in Saxony, Germany



Favourited 32 times

  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks



  • last activity

    Last activity


  • Description


    About four years ago, my husband and I moved to Saxony, in the East of Germany where we bought a 400 years old farmhouse. Shortly after my sister joined us who had been living in Reykjavik. Since for about two years her american boyfriend lives here with us most of the time. We grow most of the vegetables we eat our selves, we have bees, chickens, three cats and ducks. Parallel, we are always busy with the renovation of the house. Since 2 years now we have a new bathroom with a shower and a flushing toilet - that was maybe the (at least emotionally) biggest achievement. Last year our roof was restored, that was the only renovation that we did not do ourselves and had professional carpenters come in and help us. We're all originally from the city and have various university degree backrounds - so we did not have much of an idea of ​​rural life and crafts in the beginning. But it is a great pleasure for us to face the challenges of agriculture and house renovations, to come up with ideas and find new solutions. We have learned a lot in the meantime and are always happy about external input, we never stop learning.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    General Maintenance
    Help with Eco project
    Animal care
    Language practice
    Art project

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    The part of Germany we live in used to be the DDR (old east Germany) until 1990. It can be very interesting if one spends a little more time in Germany to look at the old BRD (old west Germany) and search for differences and commonalities.
    The countryside we live in is especially interesting because every 20 km there is a small city with a huge castle - remains from the 1300s.

  • Help


    Concerning the garden the work is mainly weeding, harvesting and conserving the vegetables. This year we also plan on building a few new raised beds and there is always fire wood to be sawed or chopped.

    Concerning the house there is always something to do, building new doors, plastering parts of the fassade, electricity, building walls with clay bricks...

    Concering the animals there isn´t much to do on a daily basis, however bigger tasks come up irregular during the year. Shearing the sheep, repairing fences, big stable clean ups, upkeeping of the new hives, honey harvesting etc.

  • Languages spoken

    German: Fluent
    English: Fluent

  • Accommodation


    Unfortunately we can`t host during winter as a lot of our rooms don`t have stoves, but we have a few beautiful guest rooms for the summer that are located in our main house. In the evenings we cook and eat together.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Public transportation: There is a pretty good railway system throughout Saxony and the next stop is an eight minutes drive away from us. We also have bicycles to lend as we live next to a beautiful bicycle-trail right by the river called Mulde.

    Sight seeing: We have dozens of beautiful castles with very good exibitions around. We also live in between Leipzig and Dresden, two big cities with a rich history and also "Hipsters" wont be dissapointed by the art and club culture.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 3-4 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 613962257948