Cultural exchange with our home-educating neurodiverse family in Hemel Hempstead, UK

Country

United Kingdom

Favourited 190 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    5  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    17/10/2021

  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    384

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 1 day

  • Badges

    Good Host
    Facebook verified
 
  2021 

 Min stay requested: 1 month or more

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are a home educating family of 4, with 2 boys aged 9 and 12. We live in Boxmoor, Hemel Hempstead which is a lovely town just a short train ride (30mins) from Central London (Euston station). We have 4 bed house with a garden just 20 mins walk from the train station. The area is very green with a canal, river and lots of green spaces nearby. 5-10 minutes walk from the town centre.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    Babysitting and creative play
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Living near to London you have all that it has to offer on your doorstep, museums, culture, nightlife. Hemel Hempstead is also in the green belt of England though so you also have the beautiful countryside on your doorstep but are also 10 minutes walk from the town centre. You will be an integral part of our family so you will have the opportunity to learn all about English life and family. We will be happy to take you places and help you to find and do anything that interests you. We would like this exchange to be mutually beneficial.

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Help

    Help

    We are looking for somebody to come and live with us for a minimum of 3 months but ideally longer. You would become a part of our family, eating with us, helping with cleaning and tidying the house and playing with the children. Your main help will be cleaning the house, helping the garden, babysitting the children some evenings and also spending time with them during the day sometimes if mum is busy with the other child.

    Our last ten workawayers have been men, which has worked very well as we have two boys. But they have said they would be open to having either a woman or a man this time.

    We would like you to be active and sporty, happy to take them to the park regularly on their bikes and scooters and proactively helpful around the house, with cleaning and tidying, especially the kitchen.

    Help would involve, babysitting 1 or 2 evenings a week, one of these on the weekend will sometimes be an overnight and we will return in the late morning. The rest of the evenings would be your own. You would be asked to look after and play with the children sometimes. It will vary each day, some days only 2 hours and other days more. This would range from looking after the younger one while mum goes out with the older one. Taking them to activities sometimes. It would be great for them to learn about your culture and language and you of course will get much opportunity to learn about ours as well.

    Other wise, helping us to keep the house clean (Hoovering, dusting, cleaning bathrooms and kitchen) and keeping the garden mowed, swept and weeded.

    If you wanted to get involved in the boys learning teaching them about your country, customs, language etc... that would be great. Helping them with technology, doing sports with them, playing games with them would all be good.

    We are a very friendly, welcoming family and are really looking forward to having you come and stay with us :)

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    You will have a single room and we share a bathroom . We have 1 bathroom and a downstairs toilet. Downstairs is a kitchen, open plan dining room, separate living room and boys play area. We have a medium sized garden.

    I do a weekly shop. If you any particular dietary requirements I will include them in the shop. I would like you to cook sometimes for the boys.

    Please do ask me any questions you have.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We are a very friendly easy going family. Simon works long hours a mixture from home and in the office and Emily home educates the boys at home. We have activities we go to most days with the boys. We love watching movies and take the boys to the cinema quite regularly too. We are also very interested in current affairs, politics and the news.

    The boys are both autistic, with the eldest also having ADHD and some sensory and anxiety issues, which means at times they can be challenging, and they do not always behave or react as a neurotypical child might, but they are also very loving and friendly with the right person. It will help greatly if you are a positive, patient and calm person from a stable background. And to be understanding and accepting of their differences. If you have experience of children with Autism, ADHD and other neurodiversities that would be helpful. They require greater empathy, patience and understanding than an average child.

    I need the workawayer who joins us to be emotionally stable and calm with a happy family background of their own. As the mother to two neurodiverse children I do not have the bandwidth to parent another person who brings other problems and issues into our home. I need someone who can help me and be a positive member of our family.

    During your time off you can take the short walk into Hemel Hempstead and visit the the park and the many many shops, restaurants and bars. You can also take the short walk to the train station and then be in central London in 30 minutes. You will not be stuck for things to do.

    We would be very happy to help you and advise you on where to go and how to get to places.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    One

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 25 hours a week





Host ref number: 596873611912