Help with daily life and in our garden in Savitaipale, Finland

  • Favourited 200 times
  • Last activity: 23 Aug 2023



 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks



  • Description


    Hello! We live in big old House in central of small village, Savitaipale. Our family is made of mom, dad, daughter(15), son(17) and two dogs + relatives and friends who come and go all the time. We are messy and unorganized but warm and caring family.

    We are renovating the House all the time but there is so much to do and so little time. Our yard is endless work, we need most help with work outside at the moment. If you have skills with building with wood, that would be awesome, there are gates and fences to build and we never seem to have time for that. Our dogs also need a lot of attention, so if you take them outside with you to work with yard and take them for walks, it would be huge help for us!

    Miika (dad) is working day and night shifts and Paula (mom) is working 12 hour shifts and also finishing studies for bachelor of social services. So we don´t allways have time to cook or clean, so all help with cooking and cleaning is most wellcome.

    On the other end of house we have a nice quiet room with own entrance so if you would like to come and live with us, you have your on privacy when ever you need a rest from us :) In House we also have ceramic studio and small shop. We don´t have much time to do ceramics at the moment but hopefully that will change soon.

    We have summergottage half hour drive from our House and there is lot of work to do there also....but if you want to spend some quiet time in middle of forest, it's a perfect place to rest also. Our daughter is studying english at school and hearing english everyday would be priceless help with her education! Our son is studying elsewhere but visits us during weekends.

    So it's not all work, it's also fun and games because we love boardgames. So if you are up for that, this is place for you :) During summer we like to visit beach near us and there is also possibility to camp there, if you want to spend some of summernights sitting by the campfire. During autum, we spend as much time as possible in forest, picking blueberrys and mushrooms. In wintertime Savitaipale is good place to skate and ski and we live next to swimminghall and library so it doesn't matter that village is small, there is allways something to do! There are also many other workaways In the area to spend time with. We have car so if you have drivers licence, you can run some errands further away.

    Because of our long days at work, there will be days that nobodys around, so if you require lot of company, you might not enjoy staying with us. But if you are ok with some independent working, then I can promise, you have your own space to work and spend time and of course when ever we are at home, we join the endless work that our house and yard provides.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Art Projects
    Language practice
    Animal Care
    Babysitting and creative play
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    You have opportunity to come part of big Happy finish family, learn finish wintersports, ceramic, spend Time in nature. There are also good Fair priced Transports to visit other towns also.

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Help


    We need help with: cooking, cleaning, renovating, cardening(summertime), snow work(wintertime), heeting(with Wood), spending Time with children and dogs and all sort of things that one needs to do running family😀you don't have to Be master of all trades, we Will teach you if that is needed. Most important skill is to Be kind to children and Animals and tolerate mess😊

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    English: Fluent
    Finnish: Fluent

    This host offers a language exchange
    This host has indicated that they are interested in sharing their own language or learning a new language.
    You can contact them directly for more information.

  • Accommodation


    You have your own room on the other Side of House but you are part of family so you can spend Time with us if you want. You eat with us and we include your wishes on grocery list.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    This host has indicated that they love having digital nomads stay.

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    This host can provide space for campervans.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?


  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 589316695423

Feedback (6)


These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)

Help on a small organic farm on the beautiful and quiet Island of Föglö, Aland Islands
Help out at our hundred year old ranch with construction, maintenance and around the house in Satakunta, Finland