Help with household chores and organisation and with my son in Bremen, Germany

Country

Germany

Favourited 36 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    7  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    15/12/2019

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    90.9 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 2 days

  • Badges

 
Join now to contact this host
  2019 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Left over from an original cummunity project its just a small 1.5 people household at the moment with lots to do. Especially to make part of the flat ready for renting out and keeping the system running...
    I am quite busy working but I still remember other things from earlier times and like sharing each others experiences.
    Small Jonathan would apreaciate loads if you had any knowledge of German because he started complaining with earlier workaway experiences when everybody was chatting on about in foreign tongues ;-.) - understandably I find.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    Babysitting / child care
    General Maintenance
    Help in the house
    Language practice
    Art project
    Help with Computers / internet
    Teaching

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Hm, what to say. Maybe: Apart from my own travelling experiences and my former engagement in community activities involving something like free economy, spiritual and soul seeking if you want to call it that way or some political activist contacts, Bremen itself is just a place with many oportunities - not least still breathing from its former (and to some degree until currently) very liberal and progressive / avantgarde attitudes.
    If you already own some handycraft skills I will be more than happy to add or improve metal, wood, plumbing, electric, tiling or whatever else is needed in the flat through help or education on the job or simply through additional experience if you know about it already. All from a practical as well as from an engineering point of view, an upcycling point of view, the eternal cycle of life, you name it.
    Or we just stroll by some frends' house in the countryside and help there for a day.
    Your urban gardenig skills may live up to full creativity to plant, farm and harvest the 20 running meters of mason troughs along the balustrade of the balkonies - without my help or faintest idea really. Or the neighbouring urben gardening project on a public plaza.
    And of course there are all the musicians around who might be of interest for one or the other.
    So - I suppose we should find something beneficial. - In total emergency I can give you lectures on naval architecture and marine engineering ;-.)

  • Help

    Help

    After certain changes in the flat there's quite a bit of general household and organising work to restore and sustain the condition as in the pictures.
    Further there is sufficient projects for skilled craftsmen and craftswomen.
    4 year old sonny boy may very likely take on some games and projects and - most famous - role plays with you (advise him if stalling with too many roles at once and roles that are supposed to play another role...) and may have you bring / pick him to / from kindergarden, take you out to the lake or alike.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    little Jonathan has been complaining and refusing to accept more non-german speaking guests. He is VERY perceptive for even the slightest bit of german and a great teacher! MYself: english, french, used to SOME Italian and Indonesisan (bahasa) but mostly

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    several oportunities. I suppose sleeping undisturbed in one very small guest room of 5 m² , using a bigger room (18m²) with my clothes during the day and of course the 40m² kitchen + living room and balcony.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    we live in a beautiful, big, very sunny loft apartement in a young, trendy and central part of Bremen, with bars, cafes and boutiques nearby AND with a lake and recreational park/nature area on an island a 5 minutes walk away! you can walk through nature to the beautiful historical city centre (about 20 minutes) with great art museums, theater, ... public transport is also right around the corner. You can have a bike. The big and culturally very interesting city of Hamburg is 1 hr by train, also the ocean is about 1 hr to 1 1/2 hrs by train. Separate (second) toilet, internet access, telephone flatrate for national calls, floor heating, elevator, balconies to three sides with a view over the roof tops... we mostly buy organic food (health food store in the house)... we are very open, progressive, easygoing, well traveled, educated, like (counter) culture and love to meet people from all over the world and to discuss all kinds of things, speak english fluently... and looking forward to getting to know you!
    - Having said all that I met some considerable losses with other people in the house. So if possible I would value a personal indemnity insurance loads. It's just not so funny to have the polished stainless steel surface of a brand new gas stove ruined and thus lost a four digit number worth within a week of purchase through scrubbing with scotch brite pad ... and things like that.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    4hours a day, 5 days a week






Host ref number: 588299167845