Help on a family project and join for a cultural exchange in Strömsund, Sweden

  • Sweden
  • Favourited 9 times
  • Last activity: 06/12/2022

Availability

  2023 

 Min stay requested: at least 1 month

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D

Details

  • Description

    Description

    We are a family of 5 people one dog a cat and a hamster. We live ina a remote place in the Northwest of Sweden. In the heart of Jämtland. It is 50k to the nearest small city of Strömsund. There you have shops and some other stores.

    Our home is an old school and was a part of a bigger community with a orphanage, chapel and retirement home. In the beginning of 1900. My parents (Hi! Im Zara) bought the place in 1972. There was only one room that was ok to sleep in. Nothing more. They did a fantastic job renovating this old house!

    6 years ago I bought the house from them and made plans to live together and that dad would teach me and my husband how to take care of the land and the old house. He was a farmer. We were aiming for self-sufficiency. And for them to grow old at home. Then life changed. Almost 4 years ago dad walked home and just shortly after my mum went. Dad died without a warning after a beautiful family dinner. Mum who got very sick, died jus a few months ago.

    So here we stand, me and my husband without the economy, knowledge or time to proceed. Im a yoga teacher and have my studio in Strömsund. I spend 4 days per week there. My deepest wish is to be able to start a retreat in Hillsand at Fridsberg. But its going to take time…

    First we need to take care of the property. Get going with field work, renovate the old house, build a smaller house. Move toward self-sufficiency!

    There is a nice small house for you who come to workaway. There is one sleeping room. for 2-4 people. And there is also room in the chapel ( we don’t own it but the owner is ok with me using it). It is youth hostel standard. There are 4 beds. Shower and sauna in the basement of our house.

    We need help with: renovating houses, farming the land (it needs to be done by hand), creating a garden, planting and growing vegetables, construction, cutting down trees. And more!

    As a family we are very simple and down to earth, almost totally plant based. We have reindeers so the meat we eat is reindeer or moose. My husband and our oldest sun likes hunting. And we also go fishing sometimes. We love outdoor life. And have no need to fit in “the normal”. The thought of being dependent of the old system is nothing for us. We flow toward freedom and the new world! We really need help and think this is so exiting. And we love to meet you.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Farmstay help
    Babysitting and creative play
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We are Sami and have a lot of nice places to show and knowledge to share. Sami traditions, language, Sami Shamanism, the old way of living in the special traditional house of Sami. If you are interested in hunting culture my husband Joachim and my son PerJonas will gladly take you with! Ayurvedic lifestyle in the north of this planet.

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Help

    Help

    We need help with: renovating houses, farming the land (it needs to be done by hand), creating a garden, planting and growing vegetables in Swedish zone 7, construction of buildings, cutting down trees. cooking for those who work outside or for our family when we come home late after a day at work in Strömsund. And more!

  • Languages spoken

    English: Intermediate

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    There is a small house where you can live and have your home. With kitchen, toilet and shower. Also a small sauna! One bedroom. We can make room for up to 4 people in that bedroom if ok with shared space!. And also a space in the chapel with room for 4 people in shared space. In the chapel there is kitchen and toilet, shower and sauna in the basement of our house. All in very simple standard.

    In my studio in Strömsund i have a grocery store where I sell organically grown greens and dry goods. Our family lives as dumpster divers ;0) We live of the food left. We will share that and you mostly cook your food by your self. Sometimes we will eat together. All because we work in Strömsund and come back to Hillsand very late or not at all. Some nights we stay over in the studio.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Our place is remote from all except nature... You can spend your days off in nature, doing absolutely nothing ;0) Or going hiking in the forrest or in high mountains, fishing. In summer we have kayaks and in winter you kan go skiing. If you want to visit Strömsund there is schoolbus that go down in the morning and home in the afternoon. You can also come with us by car to Strömsund or wherever we are going.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 586451642877

Photos

Feedback

Come live in the forest and help with building projects in Småland, Sweden
Help us at our countryside place in Vintrosa, Sweden