Come and join Juliet and Andy and the menagerie and discover this beautiful mountain retreat in the foothills of the Pyrenees.



Favourited 111 times

  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks



  • last activity

    Last activity


  • Description


    We are a very active young couple in our early sixties. Andy still works as a builder and is a keen cyclist. I am retired but spend most of my time running this big house and garden as well as running the holiday gite in the summer months. I also cycle, walk and sing with the choir. We have 4 chickens, 2 sheep, 2 cats and a dog all my of whom need a lot of my attention and are very much part of the family. The old stone house has been completely renovated and is nestled in a mountain village 60k from Perpignan and 100k from Carcassonne in the south of France. We have about an acre of land. The holiday cottage is right next door, and as it is not let in the winter this is where our helper(s) would stay. It has also been lovingly renovated and is fully equipped with two bedrooms and 2 bathrooms. We are also renovating an old barn 5' from here. We are English, but I also speak French.. We have many friends in the surrounding villages and some of them have already very successfully used work away. This will be our first time. This is a very unspoilt part of France, wonderful for nature lovers, ramblers, cyclists, horse riders. It is Cathar country and we live nestled beneath 2 Cathar castles. (Think DaVinci code). If you are looking for city lights don't come here! For beauty, peace and tranquility you need look no further. We are looking to welcome one or two people into our home who are prepared to help us maintain our home, create the barn and share our love for this beautiful little paradise.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    DIY and building projects
    General Maintenance
    Help around the house
    Animal Care

  • Help


    Basically I am looking for someone to help me with the general everyday running of the house and garden. There is always too much to do and not enough time to do it. There Is also work helping Andy with renovation of the barn. At the moment. I desperately need help with the garden to get it ready for winter. Then there are various renovation projects in the house such as sanding and painting kitchen cupboards. Painting and decorating, typical household maintenance chores. Andy would love some creative help restoring the barn which is an ongoing passion.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    French: Fluent

  • Accommodation


    1 bedroom stone cottage. Kitchen/living room, shower room. TV, DVD player Mpg player, WIFI. Meals served in the main house.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    This is definitely an area for lovers of nature and history. Cycling is fantastic here (we can provide a bike) as is walking, running, riding. (Stables 10' away). We are an hour from the coast and an hour from the ski slope. Nearest shops are a 5' drive, but a car can be provided to anyone over 21 with a clean licence. The area has 4 notable Cathar castles and a museum which boasts relics of the oldest man discovered in Europe 400,000 years ago. We entertain quite frequently in a very laid back manner which is how we live our lives. We have been here 12 years and came to escape the rat race. I had an executive job in television and Andy had his own building business.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?


  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 584385391716