Help with landscaping projects and gardening in Saint-Pompont, France

Country

France

Favourited 3 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    05/07/2022

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 1 day

 
  2022 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We live in the woods in SW France on a 10 hectare property with mixed woodland and orchard. We have a number of projects at the moment to improve the land and the productivity of it. We bought this run down house and land 6 years ago and over the past few years have been trying to make it into a comfortable home with gardens. We are now working on improvement to the outside.....we are in our 60's and find that some of the work is a struggle for us. There is no commercial interest in our property whatsoever. Anything we grow or use is for ourselves and family and friends.
    The nearest village is 2 km away and the nearest town is Sarlat. We are looking for people who have an interest in Country living in a beautiful rural environment. Accommodation is in a little cottage, ideal for a couple or a single person. It is necessary to be fit and healthy for the tasks that we would like you to help with.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    A cultural exchange would be of benefit as we are British nationals but French residents.....we have travelled widely and love to meet people from all over. We are both good cooks, good hosts and would be delighted to show workawayers our beautiful area of SW France. We also have a delightful dog and hens. The property where we live is very peaceful but nearby there is the river Dordogne which is a popular spot for canoeing. The weather here is terrific from spring to late autumn. The area is popular with tourists as there are many cultural events throughout the year. A lot of the culture is in conjunction with food....seasonal celebrations of local food in an area steeped in history. There are over 1000 châteaux in the Dordogne, near us there are 9 or 10 that are open to the public. We are also within striking distance of Rocamador and Lascaux. Two of the major sites in SW France.

  • Help

    Help

    We are in the process of building a small pool, wooden terraces and general landscaping projects. We have a lot of land that needs some help to make it more productive as we would like to be as self sufficient as possible. We prefer to use organic materials and source as much material as we can locally or from our own land. Strength and fitness is important but so is good humour, a love of the outdoors and appreciation of good hearty food. Anybody with building and gardening skills would be preferable.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    French: Intermediate

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Self contained cottage that suits a couple or single person.The cottage has just been developed as a maison d'amies and is fully equipped with shower room and kitchen area. It is not a commercial building, just somewhere for friends or family to stay. There is also a terrace. We are happy to include workawayers at our mealtimes except for breakfast. We love cooking and relaxing with a glass or two of wine in the evenings.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    This is not a commercial listing...we are looking for help with stuff that we are finding difficult due to physical stamina. We realise that in return we can give you an enjoyable experience and see France at its best. There are frequent rural fetes and cultural events occurring throughout the year. Night markets happen regularly in the high season and the morning markets in the local towns and villages are always enjoyable.
    We do not have a car for your use but will be happy to take you around the area. We have a nearby rental property in Domme that we visit often and can also show you other local places that we love. There are many places to swim nearby, always a favourite pastime for us.
    Public transport in this part of the Dordogne does not exist. We have a couple of bikes for your use.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week


Host ref number: 579931369397